Before you start searching for articles, think of your specific research question and the main ideas you plan to write about. This will help you identify search terms to use in the databases and make your search process more efficient.
If you search for "exercise science" in a database, you'll find thousands of articles on a wide variety of exercise science topics. To focus on your unique research needs, use additional search terms relevant to your interests. Think about...
Once you've identified the main ideas you plan to research, combine your search terms using AND to create a search string you can use in a database. For example: "exercise science" AND "data collection" AND ethics
Below are some of the databases that are most useful for research in Exercise Science and Outdoor Recreation.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Videos. Audio Recordings.
OneSearch is the default search on the Fulton Library’s homepage. Includes the library’s books and videos, articles from many library databases, and more.
Peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Open access. Statistical & research data.
Dedicated to the medical field, including life sciences, oncology, nursing, dentistry, psychiatry, health care, veterinary science, anesthesiology, and more. Includes articles and other authoritative content.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Access to academic journals and magazines in Covers the fitness and sports fields, including proven treatment techniques and experimental research. Offers academic journals and magazines.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Focuses on the field of sports, including fitness, dance, sports medicine, and recreation. Contains journals on related topics.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Focuses on business, humanities, law, social sciences, and science, technology, and medicine. Includes journal articles.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
This multidisciplinary database includes subjects like literature, history, art, sociology, psychology, mathematics, communication, and science. Contains ebooks, articles, and journals.
Partially peer reviewed. Full-text content. Statistical & research data.
This collection of databases covers all fields of evidence-based medicine. Includes studies, experiments, and clinical trials for new drugs and treatments.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Encompasses the study of sustainability and the environment, including global warming, food safety, healthcare, and economic development. Contains journals within these fields.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Covers the fields of travel and tourism, including cultural and economic impacts. Provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Access to academic journals and magazines in Covers the fitness and sports fields, including proven treatment techniques and experimental research. Offers academic journals and magazines.
Peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Explores more than 175 interdisciplinary subjects and serves as a central resource for researchers. Contains periodical titles, scholarly articles, and other sources.
Below are journals that you may find helpful with your research in Exercise Science and Outdoor Recreation. These journals are peer-reviewed, scholarly journals. This means the articles in these journals were written by experts and are reviewed by several other experts in the field before publication. This ensures the articles' quality. Be aware, however, that items published in peer-reviewed journals like book reviews, editorials, letters to the editor, and news items are not peer-reviewed.