Research Guides: Exercise Science & Outdoor Recreation: Find Books

Books and Ebooks

Below is a small sample of the many books on Exercise Science and Outdoor Recreation that you can find in the Fulton Library's collection.

You can find other Exercise Science books in the library's collections by browsing the RC section on the Fulton Library's 5th floor. Here is the breakdown of the RC section by topic, so you can determine where to look on the shelf.

You can find other Outdoor Recreation books in the library's collection by browsing the GV section on the Fulton Library's 4th floor. Here is the breakdown of the GV section by topic.

If you need any help finding resources, please do not hesitate to contact your subject librarian, Karen Sturtevant. She's always happy to help.

Data Analysis and Research for Sport and Exercise Science: A Student Guide (Ebook) by Craig Williams and Chris Wragg
Publication Date: 2004
Data Analysis and Research for Sport and Exercise Science is tailored to suit undergraduate sports and exercise science students seeking a clear understanding of data and statistics to support their scientific research. The text is divided into three main areas: Research and Design, Data Analysis and the Interpretation of Findings. Topics covered in the book include: introduction to the scientific research method, the literature review, developing your research question and experimental design, using statistical analysis to interpret results, presentation of your data, discussing your results and drawing conclusions.
Pacing in Sport and Exercise: A Psychophysiological Perspective (Ebook) by Andrew Edwards and Remco Polman
Publication Date: 2014
This is the first book which comprehensively examines the way humans pace exercise and sporting activities. This concept represents an exciting opportunity to combine the latest physiological and psychological theories with practical sport and exercise applications. This book will be an essential read for sport and exercise science academics, students, coaches, athletes and general exercise enthusiasts.
Clinical Exercise Science (Print Book) by Andrew Scott and Christopher Gidlow (Editors)
Publication Date: 2016
Clinical Exercise Science is an introduction to core principles and best practice in exercise science for students and practitioners working with clinical populations. Combining the latest scientific research with evidence-based, practitioner-led analysis, the book offers integrated coverage of the full clinical exercise curriculum, including: pathophysiology of exercise and disease; exercise as a clinical intervention; exercise, nutrition, and lifestyle; health behaviour change; and clinical skills in exercise science. The book covers a wide range of conditions, including cardiovascular disease, pulmonary disease, metabolic disease and mental health problems, and includes an array of useful features to guide student learning, such as case studies, study tasks, definitions of key terms and suggestions for further reading.
Encyclopedia of Leisure and Outdoor Recreation (Ebook) by John Jenkins and John Pigram (Editors)
Publication Date: 2004
This is a key reference guide for the exploration of leisure and outdoor recreation. It reflects the multidisciplinary nature of these fields and contextualizes the leading research and knowledge on key concepts, theories and practices. Edited by leading authorities in the field, this volume includes a comprehensive index, and up-to-date suggestions for further reading. It is an essential resource for teaching, an invaluable companion to independent study, and a solid starting point for wider subject exploration.

Finding Books

This list is only a starting point of commonly used books in this area, not a complete list of library books on the subject. To find other books on this subject, use the search box on the library's homepage. To find other books on this subject, use the search box on the library's homepage. The search box defaults to OneSearch. To look for books, toggle over to Books. This will limit your search to books and ebooks.

Finding Books: UVU Fulton Library Homepage
Use the search box on the library's homepage to search for more books. Enter a few search terms, a title, or an author into the box, then hit enter or click the magnifying glass. Once your search runs, you can filter your results by clicking the All Filters button, located just below the search box.

Library Help

Call: 801.863.8840
Text: 801.290.8123