Before you start searching for articles, think of your specific research question and the main ideas you plan to write about. This will help you identify search terms to use in the databases and make your search process more efficient.
Once you've identified the main ideas you plan to research, combine your search terms using AND to create a search string you can use in a database. For example: "metabolic rate" AND sleep. For more strategies to improve your searching, see the Search Strategies page in this guide.
Below are some of the databases that are most useful for research in Exercise Science and Outdoor Recreation.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Videos. Audio Recordings.
OneSearch is the default search on the Fulton Library’s homepage. Includes the library’s books and videos, articles from many library databases, and more.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Open access.
Google Scholar offers sources across many disciplines and sources, like academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and websites. Results include articles, theses, books, abstracts, court opinions, and more.
Peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Open access. Statistical & research data.
Dedicated to the medical field, including life sciences, oncology, nursing, dentistry, psychiatry, health care, veterinary science, anesthesiology, and more. Includes articles and other authoritative content.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Access to academic journals and magazines in Covers the fitness and sports fields, including proven treatment techniques and experimental research. Offers academic journals and magazines.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Focuses on business, humanities, law, social sciences, and science, technology, and medicine. Includes journal articles.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Focuses on the field of sports, including fitness, dance, sports medicine, and recreation. Contains journals on related topics.
Peer reviewed. No full-text content. Statistical & research data.
This interdisciplinary database focuses on scientific and academic research. Provides bibliographic and citation information for journal articles.
Peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Explores more than 175 interdisciplinary subjects and serves as a central resource for researchers. Contains periodical titles, scholarly articles, and other sources.
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's online database for searching MEDLINE and additional biomedical and life sciences literature. It is one of the most up to date, comprehensive, and powerful databases for finding scholarly literature in biomedicine.
In this short video, learn to use PubMed's Advanced Search features to refine your search with the example of a publication date range; and find journal and author names using the autocomplete feature.
Google Scholar searches for full-text articles in the UVU Fulton Library and peer-reviewed articles, theses, books, abstracts, and preprint articles posted on the web. Google Scholar is a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature and is a good source to search in addition to the library databases. You will need to update your settings in Google Scholar in order to access full-text articles that the library subscribes to. Follow the steps below to connect Google Scholar to library databases.
1. Customize your Google Scholar settings to link to the Fulton Library’s collection. Click the hamburger menu at the top left of the page, then click the Settings link/Gear icon:
2. On the Settings page, click on Library links. Check Utah Valley University Library as one of your library access links; if UVU Library isn't listed use the search box to find it. Save your settings.
