Research Guides: FAMS 2800: Teaching Human Sexuality: Finding Books

Finding Books

This page includes a starting list of books related to human sexuality and sex education, as well as instructions for locating more books.

For your assignment, you should only use academic books written by scholars in the field of human sexuality or sexuality education. These books are often edited volumes, where the book has an editor and each chapter is written by different authors. In edited books, each chapter can be used in a similar way to a peer-reviewed article—you do not need to read the entire book, and you can cite the individual chapter you used rather than the entire book. Books like this usually list an "editor" or say "edited by" on the book cover, and then each individual chapter will list the specific chapter authors underneath the chapter title.

Pro Tip: Most of the books in our collection refer to sex education or sex ed as "sexual instruction." To search for books using any of those terms, try including the following in your search string: ("sexual education" OR "sex education" OR "sexual instruction") AND your other keywords

Find Books: UVU Fulton Library Homepage
Use the search box on the library's homepage to search for books. The search box defaults to OneSearch. To look for books and ebooks, toggle over to Books. This will limit your search to books and ebooks only. You can also find book related to human sexuality and sex education by browsing the HQ and LB call number sections on the Fulton Library's 4th floor.

Books and Ebooks

APA Handbook of Sexuality and Psychology (Print Book) by Deborah L. Tolman and Lisa M. Diamond (Editors)
Publication Date: 2014
This comprehensive, two-volume handbook provides an overarching review of current empirical research on sexuality and a synthesis of the dominant theoretical perspectives that have guided both research and clinical practice.
Essential Handbook of Women's Sexuality (Print Book) by Donna Castañeda (Editor)
Publication Date: 2013
This two-volume set with contributions by distinguished and internationally recognized scholars provides a comprehensive picture of contemporary issues in the field of women's sexuality, emphasizing women's diversity and international perspectives.
Evidence-Based Approaches to Sexuality Education (Print Book) by James J. Ponzetti, Jr. (Editor)
Publication Date: 2015
This is the first book to provide a multidisciplinary and global overview of evidence-based sexuality education (SE) programs and practices. Readers are introduced to the fundamentals of creating effective programs to prepare them to design new or implement existing programs that promote healthy sexual attitudes and relationships.
Handbook of Closeness and Intimacy (Ebook) by Debra J. Mashek and Arthur Aron (Editors)
Publication Date: 2004
This handbook brings together the latest thinking on the scientific study of closeness and intimacy from some of the most active and widely recognized relationship scholars in social and clinical psychology, communication studies, and related disciplines. Each contributing author defines their understanding of the meaning of closeness and intimacy; summarizes existing research and provides an overview of a theoretical framework; presents new ideas, applications, and previously unstated theoretical connections; and provides cross-references to other chapters to further integrate the material.
Handbook of Sexuality in Close Relationships (Ebook) by John H. Harvey, Amy Wenzel, and Susan Sprecher (Editors)
Publication Date: 2004
Although sexuality is an integral part of close romantic relationships, research linking these two constructs has been less systematic than other areas pertaining to close relationships. To date, researchers in communication, sociology, family studies, psychology, and psychiatry, have made significant advances in both of these fields. The editors' goal is to integrate this research into one volume. They bring together major scholars from the diversity of fields working on close relationship topics to examine past contributions and new directions in sexuality.
LGBT Health: Meeting the Needs of Gender and Sexual Minorities (Ebook) by K. Bryant Smalley (Editor)
Publication Date: 2017
Offers a first-of-its-kind, comprehensive view of mental, medical, and public health conditions within the LGBT community. This book examines the health outcomes and risk factors that gender and sexual minority groups face while simultaneously providing evidence-based clinical recommendations and resources for meeting their health needs.
Tools for Teaching Comprehensive Human Sexuality Education (Print Book) by Dominick Splendorio and Lori Reichel
Publication Date: 2013
A hands-on resource filled with interactive activities to engage students' thinking and skill development. This book contains ready-to-use lesson plans referencing both the National Sexuality Education Standards and the National Health Education Standards, and is arranged into chapters by the seven topic areas outlined in the National Sexuality Education Standards.

FAMS 2800 Supplemental Books List
This link takes you to a list of supplemental books for FAMS 2800 recommended by instructor Jeremy Boden. The books on this list are all available through the UVU Fulton Library and relate to aspects of teaching human sexuality. They are not scholarly books, but may be helpful for developing your educational program or could be used as a resource for participants in the program.

Family Science Librarian

Annie Smith

Contact:

Email Annie
FL410, Fulton Library

801.863.8752

Subjects: Cinema Studies, English & Literature, Ethnic Studies, General Interest Topic Guides, General Research, Languages, News & Current Events, Research Skills

Library Help

Call: 801.863.8840
Text: 801.290.8123

In-Person Help