This research guide is designed to help students researching gender studies topics get started finding articles, books, and other resources in this subject area.
To learn more about effective searching, read the Search Strategies page before delving into the available resources in this guide. If you need any assistance with your research, contact a librarian using the contact information included in this guide. We're happy to help!
Gender Studies is an interdisciplinary subject. Depending on your research focus, you may also wish to use one of the following guides:
The following resources are frequently used for gender studies research. OneSearch (below) also works well, since it combines many databases plus the library's book and media collections. Explore the other pages of this guide to find additional resources for your research.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Explores gender and women’s studies, including gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) research within the fields of sociology, psychology, education, health, law and politics. Comprised of books, journals, and magazines.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Explore sociology topics, such as human behavior, relationships, communication, community development, culture, and more. Includes journal articles.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Explores gender studies, including the fields of sociology, psychology, education, health, law, and politics. Contains books, journals, and magazines.
OneSearch and ProQuest are the Fulton Library's main databases. They allow you to search the library's articles, books, streaming media, and more. OneSearch and ProQuest include resources on almost every topic, making it a great place to start your research!
To use either of these databases, go to the UVU Fulton Library Homepage link below. Use the tabs in the search box to navigate between OneSearch and ProQuest. Enter search terms into the box, then hit enter or click the magnifying glass.
We recommend using both databases because, while there is some overlap between the two, each database features a lot of unique content.
