One of the biggest challenges in history research is creating a topic. You have the entirety of world history—right up until yesterday—to choose from. This guide will help you choose a topic. It will also help you tackle the second biggest challenge of history research: finding sources.
If you need any assistance with your history research, use the Help features in this guide to contact a librarian—we're happy to help!
The following resources are some of the most used when doing research in History. Explore the other pages of this guide to find additional resources.
Peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Covers American and Canadian history from the Neolithic era to the present. Includes articles from hundreds of journals.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
This world history database (excluding Canada and the United States) focuses on the 15th century to the present. Features scholarly articles and journals.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
This multidisciplinary database includes subjects like literature, history, art, sociology, psychology, mathematics, communication, and science. Contains ebooks, articles, and journals.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
This database specializes in events in U.S. history. Contains periodical content and established scholarly work.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Provides an overview of U.S. history, covering the most-studied events, conflicts, political and cultural movements, and more. Includes periodical content.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Provides balanced coverage of events in world history. Includes relevant articles and features both current thinking and established scholarly work.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
This database focuses on the most-studied events, cultures, civilizations, and religions in world history. Includes articles, primary sources, videos, photos, and more.
Oxford English Dictionary (Ebook)
OneSearch is the Fulton Library's main database. It allows you to search the library's articles, books, streaming media, and more. OneSearch includes resources on almost every topic, making it a great place to start your research!
To use OneSearch, go to the UVU Fulton Library Homepage link below. OneSearch is the main search box on the page. Enter search terms into the box, then hit enter or click the magnifying glass. Once your search runs, you can filter your results clicking the All Filters button that appears below the search box.
