Research Guides: History: Primary Sources in Books

Primary Source Book Collections

To get you started on your history research, here are a few books that contain primary sources for American and world history.

Civil War: A History in Documents (Print Book) by Rachel Filene Seidman
Publication Date: 2001
Rachel Seidman brings together an array of primary sources from the antebellum period, the war, and Reconstruction to provide a well-rounded account of this pivotal era. Political debates and military developments may occupy the historical foreground, but it is the letters, diary entries, memoirs, and testimony of blacks, Native Americans, women, children, farmers, and foot soldiers in the richly textured background that bring the Civil War to life.
Colonial North America and the Atlantic World (Print Book) by Brett Rushforth and Paul Mapp
Publication Date: 2008
A comprehensive collection of primary documents for students of early American and Atlantic history, Colonial North America and the Atlantic World gives voice to the men and women, Amerindian, African, and Europeans who together forged a new world.
Daily Life Through World History in Primary Documents (Print Book) by Lawrence Morris
Publication Date: 2008
This three volume collection contains primary sources from the ancient world (volume one), the Middle Ages and the Renaissance (volume two), and the modern world (volume three).
Milestone Documents in American History: Exploring the Primary Sources that Shaped America (Print Book) by Paul Finkelman
Publication Date: 2008
This multi volume set contains important primary sources from American history, including political documents, speeches, and more.
A More Perfect Union (Print Book) by Ronald Story and Paul F. Boller
Publication Date: 2008
This book provides a wealth of political and diplomatic primary source documents, many selections illustrated with photographs. Influential and famous readings include the Gettysburg Address, Earl Warren's opinion in Brown v. Board of Education of Topeka, and the writings of Upton Sinclair.

More Primary Sources in the Fulton Library
This list contains dozens of primary source collections available in our library. Unlike the books listed above, many of these collections are focused on specific topics and groups in American history.

Finding Books

This list is only a starting point of commonly used books in this area, not a complete list of library books on the subject. To find other books on this subject, use the search box on the library's homepage. To find other books on this subject, use the search box on the library's homepage. The search box defaults to OneSearch. To look for books, toggle over to Books. This will limit your search to books and ebooks.

Finding Books: UVU Fulton Library Homepage
Use the search box on the library's homepage to search for more books. Enter a few search terms, a title, or an author into the box, then hit enter or click the magnifying glass. Once your search runs, you can filter your results by clicking the All Filters button, located just below the search box.

Library Help

Call: 801.863.8840
Text: 801.290.8123