Research Guides: History: Find Books

How to Browse the Fulton Library

Library of Congress Classification

The Fulton Library uses the Library of Congress classification system to organize its collections. Every physical book, video, sound recording, or other item is assigned a unique call number based on the item's subject matter. The call number is a letter and number combination that describes the major subject matter of the item.

For example, the Utah History Encyclopedia is assigned the call number F826 .U856 1994. The F826 portion of the call number tells you the book is about Utah history. Knowing that F826 is the call number for Utah history allows you to find that section of books in the library and browse the books on the shelves. You will often find very useful books for your work in this way, that you would not find searching the online catalog.

Important Note for History Research

The call numbers for World History (D) and History of the Americas (E and F) are best understood as histories of places and peoples. So, the DA call number is used for British history. Native American history is assigned a call number in the E75 to E99 range. The history of Brazil is given a call number in the F2501 to F2659 range.

Note that histories of particular subjects are found in the call number ranges of those subjects. Books on the history of labor strikes or unions, for example, would have a call number under HD (Industries – Land use – Labor).

Subject Headings

No book is limited to a single subject, so the library also adds descriptive subject terms to the book records in the catalog. The library uses the Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) in order to consistently apply the same term for the same subject. For example, you will see a variety of names for the war, the Great War, World War One, World War 1, World War I, WW1, or WWI. But, the subject heading for the first world war is World War, 1914-1918.

You can find the subject headings online or in the reference collection:

Library of Congress Subject Headings (Print Periodical) by Subject Cataloging Division, Processing Department
Publication Date: 2009
These six volumes contain the complete Library of Congress subject headings.

Books for Background Research

Quite often when doing research you will come across concepts, theories, names, and terms that are new and unfamiliar. Reference works are good sources for becoming familiar with the unfamiliar. In addition to our many print volumes, the library has a varied collection of reference works online.

You can begin your search with the Find Books link below to see what we have, or go beyond the Fulton Library's collection and request books via our free interlibrary loan service by searching:

UVU Fulton Library Homepage
The library's main page. Access OneSearch, help options, library hours, and more.
WorldCat
WorldCat is a collective library catalog that allows you to search for items—including archival materials—in libraries around the world.
HathiTrust
This site contains digitized copies of public domain and copyrighted works held by the libraries. You can read the search the complete text of public domain works. A great source for books published before 1920.
Google Books
An online collection of books and documents. Materials published before 1924 should be readable online. Materials published after that may not be available or only available as previews.

The following books cover Utah, American, and world history very broadly. Many more books about political, social, medical, technological, and other types of histories are available in the Fulton Library's collection, as well as more specific histories of people, eras, and places. Scroll to the bottom of this page to see instructions on finding books in our library.

Utah History

Encyclopedia of the American West (Print Book) by Charles Phillips and Alan Axelrod
Publication Date: 1996
The Encyclopedia focuses on the people and peoples of the West, approaching the region as a collection of multiethnic frontiers and as the spawning ground for an array of industries and enterprises that each gave rise to its own culture and carried with it important ecological consequences.
Utah History Encyclopedia (Ebook) by Allan K. Powell (Editor)
Publication Date: 1994
This book is also available in print.
Over two hundred contributors write about the individuals, organizations, locations, institutions, and topics important to Utah history. This landmark volume will provide an essential resource for anyone interested in the history of the state for years to come. The contributors, under the editorship of Allan Powell, who have donated their time to this project comprise nearly all scholars of Utah history working both within and outside the state. The 240 historical photographs will also be an excellent resource. The Utah History Encyclopedia sets the standard for state historical reference encyclopedias.

American History

American National Biography (Ebook) by John A. Garraty and Mark C. Carnes (Editors)
Publication Date: 2000
This book is also available in print.
Biographical dictionary of notable American men and women from all eras of American history who are no longer alive. Includes illustrations and links to other web resources.
Encyclopedia of American Historical Documents (Print Book) by Susan C. Rosenfeld
Publication Date: 2004
Presents a collection of documents that were significant to American history, from the period of European exploration to the early 2000s.
New Dictionary of American History (Print Book) by Stanley I. Kutler
Publication Date: 2002
Satisfying a long-felt need, this ready reference volume will enable the teacher, scholar, student and layman to pinpoint quickly the object of search, whether it be a name, place, event, catch-phrase, or any other item in the field. The scope goes far beyond conventional coverage of the political, the military and the geographical, extending broadly into the aspects of science, invention, commerce and industry.

World History

Dictionary of World History, Third Ed. (Ebook) by Anne Kerr and Edmund Wright (Editors)
Publication Date: 2015
This wide-ranging dictionary contains a wealth of information on all aspects of history, from prehistory right up to the present day. Accessible, clear, and concise entries include biographies of key figures in world history (living and dead), separate entries for every country in the world (summarising key historical events), and in-depth entries on religious and political movements, international organizations, and major conflicts and events and their after-effects.
Oxford Handbook of World History (Print Book) by Jerry H. Bentley
Publication Date: 2011
The Oxford Handbook of World History presents thirty-two essays by leading historians in their respective fields. The chapters address the most important issues explored by contemporary world historians.

Bibliographies

Handbook for Research in American History (Print Book) by Francis Paul Prucha
Publication Date: 1994
Focusing on and expanding the major section of the original Handbook, it provides information on traditional printed works, describes new guides and updated versions of old ones, notes the availability of reference works and of some full-text sources in electronic form, and discusses the usefulness to researchers of different kinds of material and the forms in which they are available. Extensive cross-referencing and a detailed index that includes authors, subjects, and titles enhance the book's usefulness.
Harvard Guide to American History (Print Book) by Frank Freidel and Richard K. Showman
Publication Date: 1974
The Harvard Guide has a long and distinguished history in the annals of reference works...With its revised republication in 1974, Frank Freidel and Richard K. Showman have made the Guide the most essential reference book for historians.
Studies in Mormon History, 1830-1997 (Print Book) by James B. Allen, Ronald W. Walker, and David J. Whittaker
Publication Date: 2000
Fifteen years in the making, Studies in Mormon History is the most complete and comprehensive bibliography ever attempted on historical literature about the Mormons. Created by three of the leading figures in Mormon studies, this volume provides author and topical listings of books, articles, theses, and dissertations dealing with the history of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints beginning with its inception in 1830.

Library Help

Call: 801.863.8840
Text: 801.290.8123