Research Guides: Government Information: Data Sources

Introduction to Government Data

The US Government is one of the main collectors and providers of data and statistics within the United States. The resources on this page are general sources of data and statistics. For subject-specific resources, please use Find Government Information by Subject page.

Data Sources

Data.gov
Open data available from the US Government. Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.

Census Data [United States Census Bureau] This link opens in a new window
Non-peer reviewed. Full-text content. Open access. Statistical & research data.
Indexes data from the latest U.S. Census, including population, education, business, economic, and ethnic information. This database can be used to locate statistics and create custom tables of census data.

U.S. Data and Statistics
A centralized website which includes links to data and statistics available from the US Government.

Statistical Abstract of the U.S. 2013 - present [ProQuest] This link opens in a new window
Non-peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Statistical & research data.
Specializes all areas of social science research, including anthropology, sociology, psychology, and the humanities. Contains social, political, and economic data summaries of the U.S.
Historical Statistics of the United States [Cambridge University] This link opens in a new window
Non-peer reviewed. Full-text content. Statistical & research data.
Digital copy of The Historical Abstracts of the United States. Can be used to search for statistical data on education, demographics, employment, vital statistics, economics, and more. Covers the entire history of the United States.

Specialized Data Sources

Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics measures labor market activity, working conditions, price changes, and productivity in the US economy to support public and private decision making.
Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA)
BEA's economists produce some of the world's most closely watched statistics, including US gross domestic product, better known as GDP. They collect state and local numbers, as well as foreign trade and investment stats and industry data.
Bureau of Justice Statistics
Statistics created and published by the Bureau of Justice Statistics covering crime trends, incarceration rates, criminal offenders, crime victims, and criminal justice operations.
Farm Subsidy Database
This tool tracks agricultural subsidy payments and data from the US Government.
Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)
A database of economic data collected by the Federal Reserve Bank. It allows access to more than 500,000 financial and economic data series from more than 85 public and proprietary sources.

International Data Sources

UN Data
A web-based data service for the global user community. It brings international statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single-entry point. Users can search and download a variety of statistical resources compiled by the United Nations (UN) statistical system and other international agencies.
World Health Organization (WHO) Data
The World Health Organization manages and maintains a wide range of data collections related to global health and well-being as mandated by our Member States.
World Bank Open Data
Free and open access to global development data. This site is designed to make World Bank data easy to find, download, and use. All of the data found here can be used free of charge with minimal restrictions.
Gapminder
Gapminder produces free teaching resources making the world understandable based on reliable statistics. Its tools allow users to visualize open government data.

Library Help

Call: 801.863.8840
Text: 801.290.8123