Research Guides: Government Information: Find Government Information by Subject

Finding Information By Subject

The US Government provides information in a variety of subjects. Use this page to locate different sources of information by general subject or topic. This is by no means a comprehensive list of government information. For help locating a source not listed here, please contact a librarian!

Agriculture & the Environment

Climate.gov from NOAA
A source of timely and authoritative scientific data and information about climate, created with the goal of promoting public understanding of climate science and climate-related events. The site also provides data and climate-related support to the private sector and the nation’s economy.
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
The EPA works to ensure federal laws protecting human health and the environment are administered and enforced. Use their website to learn more about environmental topics and legislation.

Domestic Affairs

Bureau of Indian Affairs
The Bureau of Indian Affairs currently provides services (directly or through contracts, grants, or compacts) to approximately 1.9 million American Indians and Alaska Natives. Find information about programs and services, policy and forms, and regional offices.
Department of the Interior (DOI)
The Department of the Interior (DOI) conserves and manages the nation’s natural resources and cultural heritage for the benefit and enjoyment of the American people.

Economics, Labor, & Budget

Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics measures labor market activity, working conditions, price changes, and productivity in the US economy to support public and private decision making.
USAJOBS
USAJOBS connects job seekers with federal employment opportunities across the United States and around the world.
USA Trade Online
Provided by the US Census Bureau, USA Trade Online is a dynamic data tool that gives users access to current and cumulative US export and import data. With multiple data sets and capabilities, USA Trade Online can assist different types of customers from a wide range of industries and fields.
Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH)
From the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, this resource for occupational and career information provided profiles on a majority of jobs in the United States. Profiles describe median pay for workers, the work environment, education and training needed to enter the job, and a 10 year outlook.
Budget of the United States Government
Contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications issued throughout the fiscal year.
Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)
A database of economic data collected by the Federal Reserve Bank. It allows access to more than 500,000 financial and economic data series from more than 85 public and proprietary sources.

Education

ERIC [Institue of Education Science] This link opens in a new window
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Open access.
Database of the U.S Department of Education Resource Information Center. Focuses on topics in education, such as educational psychology, teaching methods, and scholarly research. Offers access to journals, magazines, and other resources.

U.S. Department of Education
Homepage for the US Department of Education, whose mission is to promote student achievement and preparation for global competitiveness by fostering educational excellence and ensuring equal access.
National Center for Education Statistics
NCES fulfills a Congressional mandate to collect, collate, analyze, and report complete statistics on the condition of American education; conduct and publish reports; and review and report on education activities internationally.

Elections & Voting

Federal Election Commission
The Federal Election Commission (FEC) is the independent regulatory agency charged with administering and enforcing the federal campaign finance law. The FEC has jurisdiction over the financing of campaigns for the United States House, Senate, Presidency, and the Vice Presidency.
Vote.gov
The US Government's online voter registration portal, which links out to information about how to register to vote in each state.
Voting and Election Laws
Links to information about voting and election laws from USA.gov.

Foreign Affairs

State Department
The US Department of State leads America’s foreign policy through diplomacy, advocacy, and assistance by advancing the interests of the American people, their safety, and economic prosperity.
CIA World Factbook
Provides a country-by-country listing of basic statistical and factual information about the history, people and society, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Entries average two pages in length. Updated weekly.
Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) from the State Department
The Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series presents the official documentary historical record of major US foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity.
Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) from Hein Online
The Foreign Relations of the United States series presents the official documentary historical record of major US foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. The series, which is produced by the State Department's Office of the Historian, began in 1861 and now comprises more than 450 individual volumes.
Diplomacy and Foreign Policy Resources from NARA
Links to the Secretary of State and Department of State, as well as other sites related to foreign policy issues from the National Archives and Records Administration.
Department of State Records from NARA
Records of the Department of State and of various agencies in the foreign policy community from the National Archives and Records Administration.
White House: Foreign Policy
Remarks, statements, and releases from the Office of the President concerning foreign policy.

Geography

GIS Data from USGS
The US Geological Survey is a primary source of Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Data. Use this website to access their data and information, presented both spatially and geographically, including The National Map, Earth Explorer, GloVIS, LandsatLook, and much more.
Bureau of Transportation Statistics Geospatial Portal
This website provides access to the National Transportation Atlas Database (NTAD), maps, and more.

Historical Information

Library of Congress Digital Collections
The Library of Congress has digitized and organized thousands of primary sources including images, songs, advertisements, letters, diaries, and much more.
National Archives (NARA)
The National Archives and Records Administration is the nation's record keeper. They retain government records of enduring legal or historical value. Their website includes digital copies of some of these records, as well as resources for educators and researchers.
Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) from Hein Online
The Foreign Relations of the United States series presents the official documentary historical record of major US foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. The series, which is produced by the State Department's Office of the Historian, began in 1861 and now comprises more than 450 individual volumes.
Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) from the State Department
The Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series presents the official documentary historical record of major US foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity.

Law Enforcement

Bureau of Justice Statistics
Statistics created and published by the Bureau of Justice Statistics covering crime trends, incarceration rates, criminal offenders, crime victims, and criminal justice operations.
Department of Justice
Contains information about the Attorney General, DOJ priorities, and more.
Department of Justice List of Components, Programs, and Initiatives
A list of links of available websites for components, programs, and initiatives of the Justice Department.
Department of Homeland Security
The official website of the Department of Homeland Security. Contains information about border security, cybersecurity, news, media, and more.
Department of Homeland Security Websites
A list of the major operational components that currently make up the Department of Homeland Security.
Federal Bureau of Investigation
The FBI focuses on defense against terrorist and foreign intelligence threats, upholding and enforcing the criminal laws of the United States, and providing leadership and criminal justice services to federal, state, municipal, and international agencies and partners. Includes access to Reports and Publications.

Legal Resources

HeinOnline [William S. Hein & Co., Inc.] This link opens in a new window
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Explores legal topics, such as legal history, government documents, and more. Contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, plus treaties, constitutions, and case law.
Westlaw Campus Research [Thomson Reuters] This link opens in a new window
Partially peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Comprehensive database of legal information, including state and federal sources. Contains cases, secondary sources, regulations, and more.

Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)
The annual edition of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by departments and agencies of the Federal Government.

Medicine & Science

PubMED [NLM] This link opens in a new window
Peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Open access. Statistical & research data.
Dedicated to the medical field, including life sciences, oncology, nursing, dentistry, psychiatry, health care, veterinary science, anesthesiology, and more. Includes articles and other authoritative content.

Science.gov
Science.gov searches more than 60 databases and more than 2,200 selected websites from 15 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative US government science information, including research and development results.

MEDLINE (Web of Science) [Clarivate] This link opens in a new window
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
This biographic database covers biomedicine and life sciences topics, such as bioengineering and public health. Provides journals, newspapers, magazines, and more.

CDC National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
The National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) provides statistical information that guide actions and policies to improve the health of the American people.

PubChem [NLM] This link opens in a new window
Non-peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Open access. Statistical & research data.
Specialized chemistry database focusing on millions of molecules and compounds. Includes descriptions of molecule and compound functions, structures, and more that is based on authoritative data.

National Library of Medicine
The United States National Library of Medicine, operated by the United States federal government, is the world's largest medical library. They provide access to PubMED and MEDLINE.
National Science Foundation
The National Science Foundation (NSF) is an independent federal agency created by Congress to promote the progress of science; to advance the national health, prosperity, and welfare; to secure the national defense. Find information about funding, research, and awards from the foundation.
Center for Disease Control (CDC)
The official website of the CDC. Includes information about diseases and conditions, healthy living, and emergency preparedness.

Military & Defense

Homeland Security Digital Library [HSDL] This link opens in a new window
Partially peer reviewed. Full-text content.
This is the nation's premier database for homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management. Features documents from nonprofits, research centers, and universities, as well as international, federal, state, and local governments.

Department of Defense (DoD)
The official website of the US Department of Defense.
Joint Chiefs of Staff
The official website of the Joint Chiefs of Staff. The JCS consists of the Chairman, the Vice Chairman, the Chief of Staff of the Army, the Chief of Naval Operations, the Chief of Staff of the Air Force, the Commandant of the Marine Corps, and the Chief of the National Guard Bureau.
United States Army
The official US Army website. Access resources for soldiers and their families, news, media, and more.
United States Navy
The official US Navy website. Access historical documents, news, media, and more.
United States Air Force
The official US Air Force website. Access historical documents, news, media, and more.
Department of Veterans Affairs
The official US Department of Veterans Affairs. Information about health care, benefits, education, careers, and more.

Library Help

Call: 801.863.8840
Text: 801.290.8123