Research Guides: HM 4550: Hospitality Strategic Management: Career Communication

Career Resources

You may be required to create a resume and cover letter for this class. Below you will find useful resources for creating both. Generative AI may also be a useful tool. See the AI page on this guide for how to use it. CAUTION: Please us AI in accordance with your class policy found in your syllabus. Some professors may allow you to use it for the resume and on the cover letter only after a draft is created by you.

The Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH) from the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) is a searchable database featuring hundreds of career profiles. Searching for an occupation will provide a job description and other information, such as median pay and how to enter the occupation. Below are entries relevant to careers in hospitality management:

Career & Internship Center
UVU's Career & Internship Center has numerous resources available to help you during your job hunt, interviewing, and after your first day with tips on professionalism.
WSB Writing Lab Resources
See resume examples, resume concepts, and resume and cover letter guidelines.
UVU Writing Center
Make an appointment to receive one-on-one feedback on your writing at any stage of the writing process. The Writing Center also provides in-person workshops and online tutorials.
Monster.com
Monster is your source for jobs and career opportunities. Search for jobs, read career advice from Monster's job experts, and find hiring and recruiting advice.

Get Hired Now! (Print) by Ian Siegel
Publication Date: 2021
Ian Siegel, a Wall Street Journal bestseller, offers a fast-track guide to job hunting. With insider tips from over a million employers, Siegel provides step-by-step advice on crafting effective resumes, finding the right jobs, acing interviews, and negotiating offers. This resource is designed to help job seekers at any career stage or industry break bad habits, debunk myths, and secure jobs quickly.
LinkedIn Profile Optimization for Dummies (Print) by Donna Serdula
Publication Date: 2020
LinkedIn is more than just a resume tool; it’s a platform to showcase your professional brand and future aspirations. Profile branding expert Donna Serdula, through LinkedIn-Makeover.com, has helped over 5000 professionals optimize their profiles for better success. This guide teaches you how to create a memorable profile, optimize keywords, showcase your unique value, and use LinkedIn features to grow your network.
Hospitality Revenue Management (Ebook) by Peter Szende
Publication Date: 2020
This book offers a thorough introduction to hospitality revenue management, emphasizing practical, real-world applications. It features contributions from industry leaders, providing students with current tools and methods. Key topics include hotel pricing, segmentation, distribution channels, competitive analysis, forecasting, performance analysis, and supply and demand management. This collaborative approach ensures students are well-prepared for the dynamic hospitality industry.
Restaurant Manager's Handbook (Ebook) by Douglas Robert Brown
Publication Date: 2007
This book provides a step-by-step guide to setting up, operating, and managing a successful food service operation. It includes a comprehensive resource guide with over 7,000 industry suppliers and offers numerous innovative strategies to streamline restaurant operations, reduce costs, and increase profits. The handbook is valuable for both hospitality professionals and newcomers, offering practical tools, cost-cutting ideas, and ready-to-use forms. It’s highly recommended for its extensive coverage and practical advice.
Sustainable Chef (Print Book) by Stefan Gössling and C. Michael Hall
Publication Date: 2021
This book addresses a gap by offering a chef-led approach to sustainability, tailored for core "sustainable restaurants modules." Unlike other books that focus on recipes or the hospitality industry as a whole, it systematically guides readers through the entire supply chain and life cycle of a restaurant, from sourcing to waste management. It covers the full life cycle, including certificates, kitchen design, and how spaces can enhance sustainable food systems. This comprehensive approach aims to provide practical insights for creating more sustainable restaurants.
Practical Guide to Understanding and Raising Hotel Profitability (Print Book) by Adrian Martin
Publication Date: 2019
This book provides a detailed, easy-to-understand breakdown of hotel profit and loss accounts. It offers practical advice on maximizing profits and improving performance, covering all aspects of the profit and loss account, including marketing, accommodation, food and beverage sales, and budgeting. It explains relevant KPIs, industry benchmarks, and includes tips from leading professionals to help improve financial results. With practical case studies, it’s essential reading for hospitality students and hotel managers.
Delivering the Digital Restaurant (Print book) by Meredith Sandland and Carl Orsbourn
Publication Date: 2021
The restaurant industry is experiencing a significant disruption similar to what retail faced with omni-channel strategies. Restaurateurs need to adapt their thinking, behavior, and investments to meet tech-savvy consumer expectations for seamless interactions. The book discusses this disruption through insights from industry veterans and entrepreneurs, highlighting the importance of innovation to meet new consumer demands.
Start Your Own Restaurant and More (Print Book) by The Staff of Entrepreneur Media and Rich Mintzer
Publication Date: 2016
Americans spend over $600 billion annually on dining out, driven by busy lifestyles and the need for convenience. This demand creates opportunities for new food businesses, but success requires more than good recipes. Essential knowledge includes planning, capitalization, inventory control, and payroll management. Entrepreneur provides guidance on evaluating competition, researching customers, setting up a kitchen, finding a location, navigating regulations, and staffing effectively.

Finding Books

This list is only a starting point of commonly used books in this area, not a complete list of library books on the subject. To find other books on this subject, use the search box on the library's homepage. To find other books on this subject, use the search box on the library's homepage. The search box defaults to OneSearch. To look for books, toggle over to Books. This will limit your search to books and ebooks.

Finding Books: UVU Fulton Library Homepage
Use the search box on the library's homepage to search for more books. Enter a few search terms, a title, or an author into the box, then hit enter or click the magnifying glass. Once your search runs, you can filter your results by clicking the All Filters button, located just below the search box.

Library Help

Call: 801.863.8840
Text: 801.290.8123