Research Guides: HM 4550: Hospitality Strategic Management: Create Strategic Plans

How to Create Strategic Plans

10 Steps to Successful Strategic Planning (Print) by Susan Barksdale; Teri Lund
Publication Date: 2006
A simple 10 step process to assessing your priorities, organizing your goals, and getting your organization on the path to planned success. Loaded with worksheets, exercises, tips, tools, checklists, and other easy-to-use and interactive learning aids, this title guides you through the entire strategic planning process.

5 Steps of the Strategic Planning Process
5 Steps to Strategic Planning
Basic Steps in Strategic Planning
Strategic Planning: The Basics
Wrong - and Right - Way to Build a Strategic Plan
6 Steps to Make Your Strategic Plan Really Strategic
SWOT Tactics: Basics for Strategic Planning
How to Write a Strategic Plan PPT
Harvard lecturer Sushma Raman's Power Point discusses why we need strategic plans and how to create them, the key components, and overcoming challenges and pitfalls.
Strategic Planning: Five Steps to a More Secure Future
Sample Strategic Plan: Harvard Hillel
Sample Strategic Plan: Harvard School of Dental Medicine
Sample Strategic Plan: Princeton University PACE

Web Resources

World Tourism Organization
The United Nations agency responsible for the promotion of responsible, sustainable, and universally accessible tourism.
Travel, Tourism and Hospitality Industry in the United States
SelectUSA offers a number of services to provide Economic Development Organizations with up-to-date information, strategic counsel, and platforms for amplifying their investment attraction efforts.
USDA Economic Research Service (ERS) Food Service Industry Overview
Food service outlets are facilities that serve meals and snacks for immediate consumption on site (food away from home). Commercial foodservice establishments accounted for the bulk of food-away-from-home expenditures in 2010. This category includes full-service restaurants, fast food outlets, caterers, some cafeterias, and other places that prepare, serve, and sell food to the general public for a profit.
Utah Hotel & Lodging Association
The purpose of the Utah Hotel & Lodging Association is to represent the common interests of our members in the hospitality industry in an ethical and professional manner.
American Hotel and Lodging Association
Provides advocacy, communications support, and educational resources for the hotel and lodging industry.
Hotel and Travel Index
Resources on the travel industry supplied by Travel Weekly.
Hospitality Net
Current news articles and photos on hospitality management.
World Travel & Tourism Council (WTTC)
The World Travel & Tourism Council's (WTTC) mission is to maximize the inclusive and sustainable growth potential of the travel and tourism sector by partnering with governments, destinations, communities, and other stakeholders to drive economic development, create jobs, reduce poverty, security, and understanding in our world.

Databases

ABI/INFORM Collection [ProQuest] This link opens in a new window
Partially peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Covers economics, business, accounting, management, and related subjects. Includes academic journals, trade publications, company annual reports, dissertations, and working papers, plus country profiles and economic forecasts.
Hospitality and Tourism [Gale] This link opens in a new window
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Covers the fields of travel and tourism, including cultural and economic impacts. Provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications.

Library Help

Call: 801.863.8840
Text: 801.290.8123