Research Guides: HR 3550: Organization Development: Home

Getting Started

This research guide is designed to help students in HR 3550: Organization Development successfully complete their service-learning consulting research assignment. It will help students get started finding articles, books, and background information about service learning. For help finding resources, please contact your librarian.

Service-Learning

Service learning is an educational approach in which students learn theories in the classroom and, at the same time, volunteer with agencies (usually non-profit or social service groups) to apply what they've learned. Students also engage in reflection activities to deepen their understanding of what is being taught.

What is Service-Learning? from UVU's Center for Social Impact
Center for Social Impact webpage for Service-Learning at Utah Valley University, including information on how to designate a course as service-learning.

Service Learning Through Community Engagement (Ebook) by Lori Gardinier
Publication Date: 2016

Presenting a variety of contemporary models and frameworks for community engagement, this book is distinguished by its unique emphasis on campus-community partnerships from the perspective of the community.
Project Management for Education (Ebook) by Walter Ginevri and Bernie Trilling
Publication Date: 2017

This unique book is for two audiences! Read one way it is for educators; flip it over and read the other way for project managers! These days, everybody seems to be talking about "21st-century skills" and how our students need new ways of learning if they hope to succeed in life. In recent years, changes in how work is done have rapidly shifted society's demands. What today's students need to succeed in their future work, family, and civic lives is dramatically different from what previous generations learned in school.

Journal of Experiential Education
Published four times a year, the Journal of Experiential Education is a peer-reviewed, scholarly journal presenting a diverse range of articles in subject areas such as outdoor adventure programming, service learning, environmental education, therapeutic applications, research and theory, the creative arts, and much more.

Most Used Resources

ABI/INFORM Collection [ProQuest]

Partially peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Covers economics, business, accounting, management, and related subjects. Includes academic journals, trade publications, company annual reports, dissertations, and working papers, plus country profiles and economic forecasts.
APA PsycInfo [EBSCO]
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
This database focuses on psychology and explores topics like psychiatry, pharmacology, linguistics, treatments, counseling, addiction, and more. Contains APA journals and articles

Journal of Workplace Learning
Contains research and productivity information regarding employees in the workplace. (Full Text Delay: 1 year)
Journal of Change Management
Explores the strategies of leadings players in the global marketplace and the latest trends and techniques.
Harvard Business Review
Harvard Business Review (HBR) is a general management magazine published by Harvard Business Publishing. It covers topics related to industries, management, and geographic locations. These include marketing, operations, finance, leadership, negotiation, and strategy.

Consultancy, Organizational Development and Change (Ebook) by Julie Hodges
Publication Date: 2017

Organizations are increasingly investing in consulting capabilities to understand what changes they need to make to keep up the pace with the competition and future-proof their business. It tackles the issues posing the greatest threat to the success of the change programme, including how to adapt to rapidly shifting needs, deal with the emotional and ethical issues that arise and ensure that the managers take full ownership for the change so that 'business as usual' is established.
Insider's Guide to Working with Universities (Ebook) by James W. Dean and Deborah Y. Clarke
Publication Date: 2019

Colleges and universities stand to benefit greatly when businesspeople engage with them, whether through governing boards, alumni associations, consulting arrangements, philanthropy, or other channels. But many businesspeople are frustrated by the way institutions of higher education work--or rather, how they don't work. Why do decisions in universities take so long and involve so many people? Why aren't profit and growth top priorities for colleges? Why can't the faculty be managed like any other employees? Shouldn't alumni have a greater say as they continue to invest in their alma mater?
Integrating Service-Learning and Consulting in Distance Education (Ebook) by Marie-Line Germain
Publication Date: 2019

Anchored in research and supported by eight years of successful implantation, this book presents an award-winning e-service-learning model which allows students to enhance their employability with real work experience.

Search for Articles

The articles tab on the library's homepage The best place to start most searches is the search box on the library's homepage. This search box defaults to Articles, giving you quick access to popular and scholarly articles from thousands of different publications.

More databases and search tools are available on our full list of databases.

UVU Fulton Library Homepage
The library's main page. Access databases, help options, library hours, and more.

Ask Your Librarian

Ben Wilson

Contact:

Email Ben
FL408, Fulton Library

801.863.8423

Subjects: Business & Marketing

Library Help

Call: 801.863.8840
Text: 801.290.8123

In-Person Help