Before using library databases to locate articles, take some time to learn a few key search strategies that will make your search process more effective. Search engines like Google work if you type in whole questions or long phrases, but library databases are designed differently and require adjusting our search process slightly. Use the following strategies to find the information most relevant to your research!
First, brainstorm and write down the main search terms related to your topic. Library database works best when you use nouns as search terms—eliminate any articles (of, and, to, is), adjectives (best, worst, good, bad), and most verbs (affect, change, alter, support). You may be researching a particular problem, an intervention or potential solution to the problem, and a particular demographic of people impacted by the problem—all of these concepts work well as search terms for finding information on your topic!
Quotation marks are used to tell databases to search for exact phrases. This is especially useful for concepts that can't be boiled down to a single word.
You'll then connect your search terms using AND to create a search string. This is what you'll actually type in a database search box to look for articles or books on your topic.
When you connect search terms using AND, the database finds items that contain all the included search terms. Search strings using AND narrow our search and make it more specific to our research.
Most of the time, you'll want to use search strings with at least two search terms in order to find the research most relevant to your needs. But be aware, search strings work best with no more than three or four search terms—otherwise, your search will be too narrow and the database might not find anything.
Partially peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Covers economics, business, accounting, management, and related subjects. Includes academic journals, trade publications, company annual reports, dissertations, and working papers, plus country profiles and economic forecasts.
Peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Covers the field of psychology, with topics relating to mental illness, psychological treatment, counseling, developmental psychology, and educational psychology. Includes access to APA journal within these subjects.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
This database focuses on psychology and explores topics like psychiatry, pharmacology, linguistics, treatments, counseling, addiction, and more. Contains APA journals and articles
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Open access.
Database of the U.S Department of Education Resource Information Center. Focuses on topics in education, such as educational psychology, teaching methods, and scholarly research. Offers access to journals, magazines, and other resources.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Focuses on business, humanities, law, social sciences, and science, technology, and medicine. Includes journal articles.
Peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Focuses on the life sciences, physical sciences, medical sciences, and technology, with access to scientific, technical, and medical research. Includes journal articles, book chapters, and publications.
If you can't access the full text of an article using any of the resources on this page, use Interlibrary Loan to request the article. We'll locate another library that has the article and get you a PDF copy for free; this typically takes 2-3 business days. UVU students and employees should never pay for articles—the library has you covered!