Research Guides: Literature: American Literature

American Literature

For best results in looking for books about topics in American literature, use OneSearch on the library's homepage to search for author names or the names of specific movements (e.g. the Beats, the Transcendentalists, etc.). Books about American authors and literature can be found on the fourth floor of the Fulton Library, starting at section PS 1.

Background Research

The following are excellent resources for background research on American writers and literature.

Online Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Literature Resource Center (LRC) [Gale] This link opens in a new window
Partially peer reviewed. Full-text content.
This literature database specializes in information from reference works, books, and literary journals. Includes plot summaries, synopses, literary criticism, book reviews, and more.
Oxford Reference Online [Oxford] This link opens in a new window
Non-peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Portal site providing access to titles from the Oxford University Press. These encyclopedias, dictionaries, and companions cover a wide range of topics including zoology, literature, mathematics, law, sociology, religion, history, art, dance, and economics. License restricts use on some titles.

Books

American Literature in Context to 1865 (Print Book) by Susan Castillo
Publication Date: 2010
This book discusses the issues and events that engaged American writers of the period, providing original and useful readings of important literary works that demonstrate how context contributes to meaning. It covers a range of genres including the myths, chants, and songs of indigenous cultures; sermons; slave narratives; essays; and novels and poetry to 1865.
Cambridge Companion to Latina/o American Literature (Print Book) by John Morán González (Editor)
Publication Date: 2016
The Cambridge Companion to Latina/o American Literature provides a thorough yet accessible overview of a literary phenomenon that has been rapidly globalizing over the past two decades.
Columbia Guide to Contemporary African American Fiction (Ebook) by Darryl Dickson-Carr
Publication Date: 2005
From Ishmael Reed and Toni Morrison to Colson Whitehead and Terry McMillan, Darryl Dickson-Carr offers a definitive guide to contemporary African American literature. This volume--the only reference work devoted exclusively to African American fiction of the last thirty-five years--presents a wealth of factual and interpretive information about the major authors, texts, movements, and ideas that have shaped contemporary African American fiction.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary LGBTQ Literature of the United States (Print Book) by Emmanuel S. Nelson
Publication Date: 2009
Comprehensive in scope and accessible to students and general readers, Encyclopedia of Contemporary LGBTQ Literature of the United States explores contemporary American LGBTQ literature and its social, political, cultural, and historical contexts. Included are several hundred alphabetically arranged entries written by expert contributors. Students of literature and popular culture will appreciate the encyclopedia's insightful survey and discussion of LGBTQ authors and their works, while students of history and social issues will value the encyclopedia's use of literature to explore LGBTQ American society.
Oxford Handbook of Indigenous American Literature (Print Book) by James H. Cox and Daniel Heath Justice (Editors)
Publication Date: 2014
Over the last 20 years, Native American and Indigenous American literary studies has experienced a dramatic shift from a critical focus on identity and authenticity to the intellectual, cultural, political, historical, and tribal nation contexts from which these Indigenous literatures emerge.
Routledge Companion to Asian American and Pacific Islander Literature (Print Book) by Rachel Lee (Editor)
Publication Date: 2014
The Routledge Companion to Asian American and Pacific Islander Literature offers a general introduction as well as a range of critical approaches to this important and expanding field.

Recommended Databases

For best results, start your literature research in these recommended databases.

JSTOR [ITHAKA] This link opens in a new window
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
This multidisciplinary database includes subjects like literature, history, art, sociology, psychology, mathematics, communication, and science. Contains ebooks, articles, and journals.
MLA International Bibliography [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Partially peer reviewed. No full-text content.
This database focuses on the English language and literature. Provides access to articles in linguistics, literary criticism, folklore, and related topics.
Project MUSE [Johns Hopkins University] This link opens in a new window
Partially peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Covers the humanities and social sciences, such as literature, theater, art, psychology, business, film studies, and more. Includes access to journals, books, and more.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Open access.
Google Scholar offers sources across many disciplines and sources, like academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and websites. Results include articles, theses, books, abstracts, court opinions, and more.

Journals

Use the following publications to either search for articles in your research or to keep up with research in American literature. Once you click on a link, you'll arrive at the landing page for the publication. Click on one of the links under full-text access to see issues of or articles from the publication.

African American Review
Publishes essays on African American literature, art, and culture. Contains interviews, fiction, and poems.
Early American Literature
Articles and reviews on American literature through the early national period, about 1830, for members of the Modern Language Association.
ELH
Articles interpreting the conditions affecting major works in English and American literature, historical continuity in the discipline of letters; historical, critical and theoretical concerns.
Virginia Quarterly Review
A national journal of literature and discussion published by the University of Virginia. Articles, poetry, fiction and discussions of recent books of note.

Library Help

Call: 801.863.8840
Text: 801.290.8123