Research Guides: Literature: Home

Getting Started

Research in literature can range from writing book reviews to explicating poems to answering questions about the meaning of a text. This guide offers recommended resources for background and in-depth research, as well as tips and tricks for searching more efficiently.

For best results while searching:

Include search terms for your chosen critical lens, e.g, Marxism, Feminism, or Deconstructionism.
Broaden your search to an author's entire works or even a genre if you're having a hard time finding enough sources.
Follow citations to related articles and books.
Search for essay collections in the library's catalog in addition to searching the databases for articles.

Most Used Resources

Databases

JSTOR [ITHAKA] This link opens in a new window
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
This multidisciplinary database includes subjects like literature, history, art, sociology, psychology, mathematics, communication, and science. Contains ebooks, articles, and journals.
MLA International Bibliography [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Partially peer reviewed. No full-text content.
This database focuses on the English language and literature. Provides access to articles in linguistics, literary criticism, folklore, and related topics.
Project MUSE [Johns Hopkins University] This link opens in a new window
Partially peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Covers the humanities and social sciences, such as literature, theater, art, psychology, business, film studies, and more. Includes access to journals, books, and more.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Open access.
Google Scholar offers sources across many disciplines and sources, like academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and websites. Results include articles, theses, books, abstracts, court opinions, and more.
Arts & Humanities Database [ProQuest] This link opens in a new window
Partially peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Explores humanities subjects, including art, architecture, history, philosophy, music, literature, and theater. Offers journal articles and more.

Books

Edinburgh Introduction to Studying English Literature (Ebook) by Dermot Cavanagh, Alan Gillis, and Michelle Keown (Editor); James Loxley (Editor); Randall Stevenson (Editors)
Publication Date: 2014
Now in its second edition, this established guide for beginning students of literature has been updated to reflect the latest in teaching and research. Students will discover the full range of literary forms, styles, theories and critical strategies that are essential to the study of literature.
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism (Ebook) by Michael Groden, Martin Kreiswirth, and Imre Szeman (Editors)
Publication Date: 2004
The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism has become the indispensable resource for scholars and students of literary theory and discourse. The second edition includes 48 new entries and subentries and has been revised throughout, taking account of 10 years of rapidly changing scholarship.
Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms, Fourth Ed. (Ebook) by Chris Baldick
Publication Date: 2015
The bestselling Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms provides clear and concise definitions of the most troublesome literary terms, from abjection to zeugma. It is an essential reference tool for students of literature in any language.
Oxford English Dictionary (Ebook)
Publication Date: 1989
The Oxford English Dictionary is a unique resource that not only defines words in English, but offers complete word histories and origins. This online edition of the Oxford English Dictionary includes the 1989 edition, with subsequent updates.

OneSearch

OneSearch is the Fulton Library's main database. It allows you to search the library's articles, books, streaming media, and more. OneSearch includes resources on almost every topic, making it a great place to start your research!

To use OneSearch, go to the UVU Fulton Library Homepage link below. OneSearch is the main search box on the page. Enter search terms into the box, then hit enter or click the magnifying glass. Once your search runs, you can filter your results clicking the All Filters button that appears below the search box.