This guide will help you locate news articles through the Fulton Library. We offer several databases that include current newspapers and newswires to stay on top of today’s news, plus archives with older editions if you’re looking for a historical perspective.
You can also use OneSearch (link at bottom of page) to find news sources. OneSearch combines different kinds of articles, books, and media together, but after running a search in OneSearch you can use the News filter on the left side of the page to filter to just news articles on your topic.
Use the Library Help features in this guide to contact a librarian if you need any assistance finding news sources—we're happy to help!
Non-peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
This database provides access to thousands of major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers. Contains leading titles from around the world, plus thousands of images, radio, and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
Non-peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Covers global breaking news and a growing archive of news for modern research. Includes current news, newswires, and newsfeeds.
Non-peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Provides access to the latest news content from outside the United States and Canada. Offers access to current and archival newspapers.
Non-peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Covers current US press content and archival news, including to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and The Wall Street Journal. Offers newspapers, blogs, and more.
Non-peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
This online archive focuses on Utah newspapers, such as Salt Lake Tribune, Daily Herald, and Deseret News. Contains obituaries, marriage and birth announcements, social pages, news articles, and more.
Non-peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Open access.
This historical database offers access to digitized newspapers within Utah. Contains pages from more than 50 newspapers.
Non-peer reviewed. Full-text content. Open access.
Offers access to the official site for The Salt Lake Tribune. Contains news articles, opinion pieces, and more.
Non-peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Open access.
The official website for the Salt Lake newspaper, The Deseret News. Features online news articles.
Non-peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Open access.
The official website for Utah County’s newspaper, The Daily Herald. Includes access to digitized editions of the newspaper, as well as online articles.
Non-peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Use Flipster to read complete current and past issues of the popular magazines, like Rolling Stone, National Geographic, Writer's Digest, Poets & Writers, The Atlantic, and more.
Non-peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Access in-depth reports on controversial issues in environmental sciences, law, politics, social issues, and international trade and business health. Includes comprehensive reporting and analysis.
Non-peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Open access.
Access information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages. Includes a searchable database of U.S. newspapers.
Non-peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Offers a robust collection of print journalism from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada. Contains national, local, and student publications, as well as bilingual and Indigenous-language editions.
Non-peer reviewed. Full-text content. Statistical & research data.
The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research is the leading educational facility in the field of public opinion. Includes statistics, public opinion polls, and more.
The following links open the newspaper in the library's Global Newsstream database. After opening the newspaper, you can either search for articles on a topic that were published in that newspaper, or use the date options to see articles published on a specific date.
The following links are for Utah newspapers. Read the description to learn whether or not the newspaper has a paywall that may prevent you from reading more than a certain number of articles for free each month, and if the newspaper is included in a library database.
Non-peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Open access.
This historical database offers access to digitized newspapers within Utah. Contains pages from more than 50 newspapers.
1966–2012. Non-peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Open access.
Focuses on historical content from Utah Valley University’s student newspaper. Contains digitized editions, provided by the George Sutherland Archives. For newer content, visit UVU Review.
Partially peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Covers economics, business, accounting, management, and related subjects. Includes academic journals, trade publications, company annual reports, dissertations, and working papers, plus country profiles and economic forecasts.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full text content.
Offers essential, often overlooked perspectives on social, ethnic, and cultural news in English and Spanish. Comprised of articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Explores gender and women’s studies, including gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) research within the fields of sociology, psychology, education, health, law and politics. Comprised of books, journals, and magazines.
Partially peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Comprehensive database of legal information, including state and federal sources. Contains cases, secondary sources, regulations, and more.
Peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Dedicated to indexing interdisciplinary Canadian periodicals. Includes a mix of publications, including scientific and trade journals, theses, books, newspapers, and magazines.
OneSearch and ProQuest are the Fulton Library's main databases. They allow you to search the library's articles, books, streaming media, and more. OneSearch and ProQuest include resources on almost every topic, making it a great place to start your research!
To use either of these databases, go to the UVU Fulton Library Homepage link below. Use the tabs in the search box to navigate between OneSearch and ProQuest. Enter search terms into the box, then hit enter or click the magnifying glass.
We recommend using both databases because, while there is some overlap between the two, each database features a lot of unique content.