Research Guides: Philosophy: Home

Getting Started

*The School of Athens, by Rafael, 1509-1511*

The Fulton Library has a variety of resources for research in philosophy, from aesthetics and metaphysics to epistemology and political philosophy. We have dictionaries and encyclopedias for background research, and we have databases for finding articles about all sorts of topics in philosophy. Our resources cover both Western and Eastern philosophies.

For best results when doing philosophy research:

Be as specific as possible. Databases have a hard time finding articles with ambiguous search terms.
Use philosophy jargon, the technical language used by philosophers and researchers.
Follow citations to find older, core texts and newer updates.

Most Used Resources

The following databases are your best bets for finding articles about philosophy and philosophy-related topics.

Religion & Philosophy Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Journals in topics ranging from biblical studies to epistemology to world religions to political philosophy.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Explores topics ranging from metaphysics, religion, ethics, political philosophy, and epistemology. Contains journal articles and abstracts.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
This multidisciplinary database includes subjects like literature, history, art, sociology, psychology, mathematics, communication, and science. Contains ebooks, articles, and journals.
Religion and Philosophy (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Covers topics across a wide range of philosophies and religions. Offers access to a comprehensive collection of periodical content.

Books

These general resources are a great place to get started if you're new to philosophy research.

Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy, Third Ed. (Ebook) by Simon Blackburn
Publication Date: 2016
This book is also available in print.
This bestselling dictionary is written by one of the leading philosophers of our time, and it is widely recognized as the best dictionary of its kind. Comprehensive and authoritative, it covers every aspect of philosophy from Aristotle to Zen. With clear and concise definitions, it provides lively and accessible coverage of not only Western philosophical traditions, but also themes from Chinese, Indian, Islamic, and Jewish philosophy.
Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy (Print Book) by Robert Audi (Editor)
Publication Date: 2015
This is the leading, full-scale comprehensive dictionary of philosophical terms and thinkers to appear in English in more than half a century. Written by a team of more than 550 experts and now widely translated, it contains approximately 5,000 entries ranging from short definitions to longer articles. It is designed to facilitate the understanding of philosophy at all levels and in all fields.
Encyclopedia of Philosophy (Print Book) by Donald M. Borchert
Publication Date: 2005
Since 1967, the Encyclopedia of Philosophy has been the cornerstone of the philosophy reference shelf. Lauded for its clear and accessible presentation of wide-ranging philosophical subjects, the encyclopedia has earned its place as a first-stop resource for general readers, students and educators.
Oxford Handbook of World Philosophy (Print Book) by William Edelglass and Jay L. Garfield (Editors)
Publication Date: 2014
The Oxford Handbook of World Philosophy provides the advanced student or scholar a set of introductions to each of the world's major non-European philosophical traditions. It offers the non-specialist a way in to unfamiliar philosophical texts and methods and the opportunity to explorenon-European philosophical terrain and to connect her work in one tradition to philosophical ideas or texts from another.Sections on Chinese Philosophy, Indian Philosophy, Buddhist Philosophy, East Asian Philosophy, African Philosophy, and Recent Trends in Global Philosophy are each edited by an expert in the field.

Websites

Dictionary of Philosophical Terms and Names
This online dictionary contains brief definitions for philosophical terms and short sketches of the life and work of philosophers.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy organizes scholars from around the world in philosophy and related disciplines to create and maintain an up-to-date reference work.

OneSearch

OneSearch is the Fulton Library's main database. It allows you to search the library's articles, books, streaming media, and more. OneSearch includes resources on almost every topic, making it a great place to start your research!

To use OneSearch, go to the UVU Fulton Library Homepage link below. OneSearch is the main search box on the page. Enter search terms into the box, then hit enter or click the magnifying glass. Once your search runs, you can filter your results clicking the All Filters button that appears below the search box.

UVU Fulton Library Homepage
The library's main page. Access OneSearch, help options, library hours, and more.

Ask Your Librarian

Jacques d'Emal

Contact:

Email Jacques
FL214, Fulton Library

801.863.8058

Subjects: History, Humanities, Legal, Philosophy, Political Science, Religious Studies

Library Help

Call: 801.863.8840
Text: 801.290.8123

In-Person Help