Literature, including plays, is organized by original language and publication date in the Fulton Library's collection, so finding a play without the title or author can be tricky. For example, plays by twentieth-century American playwrights are in one spot, while twenty-first-century American playwrights may be a few shelves away.
Please note that some plays are available in anthologies and collections of plays that might show up with titles other than expected.
The Fulton Library subscribes to Drama Online, a specialized theater database that contains full-text plays and selected monologues.
Drama Online has an advanced search that can narrow down plays by setting, genre, theme, or time period. (The advanced search link can be found under the basic search button.) Many plays are available directly from this database; others can be found in the library's collection using OneSearch (see below).
Non-peer reviewed. Full-text content. Videos.
Drama Online includes plays from new writers and the most iconic names in playwriting history. Provides contextual and critical background through scholarly works and practical guides.
OneSearch and ProQuest are the Fulton Library's main databases. They allow you to search the library's articles, books, streaming media, and more. OneSearch and ProQuest include resources on almost every topic, making it a great place to start your research!
To use either of these databases, go to the UVU Fulton Library Homepage link below. Use the tabs in the search box to navigate between OneSearch and ProQuest. Enter search terms into the box, then hit enter or click the magnifying glass.
We recommend using both databases because, while there is some overlap between the two, each database features a lot of unique content.
