"All the world's a stage..." and your theatre research can no doubt feel like that, since there are so many possible topics and sources out there to work with!
Before you dive into the articles, books, and videos, remember that specificity is the key to research. Whatever your topic is, try and keep it as narrow and focused as possible:
Break a leg! And remember, you can always contact a librarian for help with your research.
The following databases are excellent places to look for articles about theatrical production or theatre criticism. OneSearch (below) also works well, since it combines many databases plus the library's book and media collections. Explore the other pages of this guide to find additional resources for your research.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Encompasses the fields of dance, theater, film, opera, stagecraft, theater and dance criticism, choreography, and related topics. Includes journals and abstracts. *Licensing permits 25 simultaneous users.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
This multidisciplinary database includes subjects like literature, history, art, sociology, psychology, mathematics, communication, and science. Contains ebooks, articles, and journals.
Partially peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Covers the humanities and social sciences, such as literature, theater, art, psychology, business, film studies, and more. Includes access to journals, books, and more.
Non-peer reviewed. Full-text content. Videos.
Drama Online includes plays from new writers and the most iconic names in playwriting history. Provides contextual and critical background through scholarly works and practical guides.
Our collections include BBC Drama Films and Documentaries, Critical Studies and Performance Practice, Donmar Shakespeare Trilogy on Screen, Focal Press Theatre Books, Global Plays, L.A. Theatre Works, National Theatre, Nick Hern Books, Oberon Books, Shakespeare's Globe on Screen, TCG Books, Theatre Making and Performance Training, and Drama's Core Collection plus updates.
The best place to start most searches is the search box on the library's homepage. This search box defaults to Articles, giving you quick access to popular and scholarly articles from thousands of different publications.
More databases and search tools are available on our full list of databases.
