Literature, including plays, is organized by original language and publication date in the Fulton Library's collection, so finding a play without the title or author can be tricky. For example, plays by twentieth-century American playwrights are in one spot, while twenty-first-century American playwrights may be a few shelves away.
Please note that some plays are available in anthologies and collections of plays that might show up with titles other than expected.
The Fulton Library subscribes to Drama Online, a specialized theater database that contains full-text plays and selected monologues.
Drama Online has an advanced search that can narrow down plays by setting, genre, theme, or time period. (The advanced search link can be found under the basic search button.) Many plays are available directly from this database; others can be found in the library's collection using OneSearch (see below).
Non-peer reviewed. Full-text content. Videos.
Drama Online includes plays from new writers and the most iconic names in playwriting history. Provides contextual and critical background through scholarly works and practical guides.
It is possible to browse the Fulton Library's catalog for plays we have in print. This will find all plays, from Greek tragedies through contemporary theatre. Please note that there is no single play section in the library's shelves; plays can be found throughout the literature section.
Samuel French and Dramatists Play Service are two major publishers of contemporary play scripts. Search for the phrase "Samuel French" or "Dramatists Play Service" in OneSearch and limit to "print book" to find titles from this publisher.
These guides include excerpts from contemporary plays or short summaries of plays that can be used to select just the right monologue.
More monologue books can be found using OneSearch (on the library's homepage) by using the search term "monologues" and limiting the search to print books.
New Audition Scenes and Monologs from Contemporary Playwrights (Print Book) by 
More Scenes and Monologs from the Best New Plays (Print Book) by The following online databases and lists of monologues offer some—but not complete—copies of monologues and plays. Some of these sites may offer content for an additional fee. Please check OneSearch for copies of plays that may not be available online and use Interlibrary Loan to request copies of plays and monologues from other libraries.