Research Guides: Political Science: Find Government Information

Finding Government Information

The US government produces an extraordinary amount of information, so finding the right piece of information can seem like looking for needles in haystacks. The resources below can help you navigate through all those haystacks of information to find what you need!

If you don't see the resources you need on this page, use the following research guide for more specialized resources:

Government Information Research Guide
This guide contains resources for finding government information, as well as tips for using that information.

Quick Start

A few main sources of government information:

USA.gov (English)
A subject-based portal to Federal services and resources online.
Official White House Website
Contains information about the current presidential administration, press releases from the executive branch, and more.
Congress.gov
The official website for US federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. It also allows you to track legislation as it makes its way through Congress.
Supreme Court of the United States
The official website of the US Supreme Court. Access opinions of the court, arguments, media, and more.
GovTrack: Tracking the United States Congress
A nonpartisan, non-governmental website that allows users to track legislation, voting records of members of the House of Representatives and the Senate, and more.

The Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) Basic Collection

The Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) Basic Collection consists of government publications that are considered vital sources of information. They support the public's right to know about the workings and essential activities of the US Federal Government.

Assistance Listings from Sam.gov
Sam.gov provides detailed, public descriptions of Federal assistance listings available to state and local governments; federally recognized Indian tribal governments, territories of the United States; domestic public, quasi-public, and private profit and nonprofit organizations and institutions; specialized groups, and individuals.
Ben's Guide to the US Government
Teaches kids from kindergarten through 12th grade about the federal government, from the U.S. Government Printing Office. Primarily an educational resource, but useful as an overview.
Budget of the United States Government
Contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications issued throughout the fiscal year.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
A finding tool for publications from all three branches of the U.S. government. It contains descriptive records for current and historical publications and provides direct links to those online.
Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)
The annual edition of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by departments and agencies of the Federal Government.
Electronic Code of Federal Regulations (e-CFR)
This is a currently updated version of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR). Updated on a daily basis.

Census Data [United States Census Bureau] This link opens in a new window
Non-peer reviewed. Full-text content. Open access. Statistical & research data.
Indexes data from the latest U.S. Census, including population, education, business, economic, and ethnic information. This database can be used to locate statistics and create custom tables of census data.

Compilation of Presidential Documents
The official publications of materials released by the White House Press Secretary. Materials include proclamations, executive orders, speeches, statements regarding bill signings and vetoes, nominations and appointments, acts approved by the President, and press releases.
Congress.gov
The official website for US federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. It also allows you to track legislation as it makes its way through Congress.
Congressional Record
The official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress, published daily when Congress is in session.
Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and Interpretation
Includes the U.S. Constitution and analysis and interpretation, with in-text annotations of cases decided by the Supreme Court of the United States.
Economic Indicators
Provides economic information on GDP, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics.
Economic Report of the President to the Congress
An annual report issued by the Executive Office of the President and the Council of Economic Advisors, providing on overview of economic progress, with extensive data appendices.
Federal Register
Published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) , the Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents.
GovInfo
A database providing authenticated access to official publications from all three branches of the U.S. Government.
Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH)
From the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, this resource for occupational and career information provided profiles on a majority of jobs in the United States. Profiles describe median pay for workers, the work environment, education and training needed to enter the job, and a 10 year outlook.
Official Congressional Directory
Includes biographical and directory information about members of the House and Senate, committee memberships, terms of service, and related content.
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States
Official complication of the President’s addresses, writings, and remarks.
Social Security Handbook
Resource for the most common questions about Social Security.
United States Code
The United States Code is the codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States.
United States Government Manual
The official handbook of the US Government, providing information on the agencies from all three branches, quasi-official agencies, international organizations in which the United States participates, boards, commissions, and committees.
United States Reports (of the Supreme Court)
Contains the final version of the opinions of the Supreme Court of the United States.
United States Statutes at Large
Contains the permanent laws enacted during each session of Congress.
USA.gov (English)
A subject-based portal to Federal services and resources online.
USA.gov (Spanish)
Un portal de servicios y recursos federales. (Spanish-language version of USA.gov).

Utah State Government Information

Utah state agencies also publish government information for the citizens of Utah. What follows are the main sources of information from the state government. This is by no means a comprehensive list. If none of these sources provides the information for which you're searching, contact a librarian.

Utah.gov
The official website of the state of Utah. A portal to much of the government information from the state available online.
Utah Government Digital Library
Search for Utah government publications, which often include current statistics and research data from state agencies.
Utah Data
Utah Data provides open access to a growing number of publicly available, reusable data sets for Utah.
Utah State Legislature
The website for the Utah State Legislature includes Utah's current legal code, the state constitution, tracking for current legislation moving through the legislation process, and a tool to locate your legislators.
Utah Department of Human Services
Website for the Utah Department of Human Services. Agencies within this department include Child & Family Services, Aging & Adult Services, Juvenile Justice Services, Services for People with Disabilities, Substance Abuse & Mental Health, Public Guardian, Recovery Services, and the State Hospital.
Utah Division of Indian Affairs
Utah Division of Indian Affairs's mission is to promote positive intergovernmental relations and the government to government relationship between the State of Utah and Utah’s American Indian tribes. Use their website to learn about tribal nations in Utah and find other educational resources.
Utah Division of Multicultural Affairs
The Utah Division of Multicultural Affair's mission is to promote an inclusive climate for Utah's multicultural communities. Their website includes a variety of learning materials and information about events.
Utah State Agencies
A full list of links to state agencies.

IBIS Indicator-Based Information System for Public Health [Utah DHHS] This link opens in a new window
Non-peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Open access. Statistical & research data.
This statistical database focuses on public health in the state of Utah. Offers access to a wide range of statistical data and publications.

Library Help

Call: 801.863.8840
Text: 801.290.8123