This guide is designed to help with your research by recommending books (for background research), articles (for scholarly arguments and studies), data sets (for statistics), and government information.
Politics touches on so many aspects of our daily lives that the topic possibilities are nearly endless. If you're having a hard time narrowing your topic, here are some things to think about:
If you're still not sure how to focus your research question, background research is a great place to start! The more you know about your topic before you search, the easier it is to come up with search terms.
These databases (plus OneSearch below) are great places to start your research. The Fulton Library also subscribes to databases that cover law, history, science, medicine, technology, and many other topics. You may need to take an interdisciplinary approach to finding articles, depending on your topic.
Non-peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Access in-depth reports on controversial issues in environmental sciences, law, politics, social issues, and international trade and business health. Includes comprehensive reporting and analysis.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Designed to support science, social studies, current events, and language arts by presenting each side of important issues. Features articles and authoritative content.
Peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Focuses on international relations and political science. Contains journals and major abstracts.
OneSearch and ProQuest are the Fulton Library's main databases. They allow you to search the library's articles, books, streaming media, and more. OneSearch and ProQuest include resources on almost every topic, making it a great place to start your research!
To use either of these databases, go to the UVU Fulton Library Homepage link below. Use the tabs in the search box to navigate between OneSearch and ProQuest. Enter search terms into the box, then hit enter or click the magnifying glass.
We recommend using both databases because, while there is some overlap between the two, each database features a lot of unique content.
