Research Guides: PSY 1010: General Psychology: Find Books

Finding Books

This page includes a starting list of reference books to help with your psychology research, as well as instructions for finding more books. Books are helpful for an in-depth look at your topic or for finding background information.

Find Books: UVU Fulton Library Homepage
Use the search box on the library's homepage to search for more books. The search box defaults to OneSearch. To look for books and ebooks, toggle over to Books. This will limit your search to books and ebooks only. You can also find more psychology books by browsing the BF section on the Fulton Library's 4th floor and the RC section on the 5th floor.

Books and Ebooks

Dictionary of Psychology, 4th Edition (Ebook) by Andrew M. Colman
Publication Date: 2015
Including more than 11,000 definitions, this authoritative and up-to-date dictionary covers all branches of psychology. Clear, concise descriptions for each entry offer extensive coverage of key areas including cognition, sensation and perception, emotion and motivation, learning and skills, language, mental disorder, and research methods.
Psychology 2e (Ebook)
Publication Date: 2020
This is a free online textbook from OpenStax. The book offers a comprehensive treatment of core concepts, grounded in both classic studies and current and emerging research. The text also includes coverage of the DSM-5 in examinations of psychological disorders. Psychology incorporates discussions that reflect the diversity within the discipline, as well as the diversity of cultures and communities across the globe.
APA Dictionary of Psychology (Print Book) by Gary R. VandenBos (Editor)
Publication Date: 2015
This second edition of a landmark reference resource—created not only for psychologists, clinicians, students, and professionals from allied mental health professions, but for all interested readers—offers definitive information on the lexicon of the field, including almost 26,000 entries offering clear and authoritative definitions in psychology.
DSM-5: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (eBook) by the American Psychiatric Association
Publication Date: 2013
An online version of the DSM-5 is available through the Fulton Library's subscription to Psychiatry Online Premium.
Also available in print.

Physical copies of the DSM-5 are available on the library's 5th floor at call number RC455.2 .C4 D54 2013. A non-circulating copy is also available at the Research Help Desk on the library's 1st floor. The DSM-5 is the standard reference book for clinical practice in the mental health field and is used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders.
A History of Psychology in Western Civilization (Print Book) by Bruce K. Alexander and Curtis P. Shelton
Publication Date: 2014
This book is a re-introduction to psychology. It focuses on great scholarly thinkers, beginning with Plato, Marcus Aurelius and St Augustine, who gave the field its foundational ideas long before better known 'founders', such as Galton, Fechner, Wundt and Watson appeared on the scene. Psychology can only achieve its full breadth and potential when we fully appreciate its scholarly legacy.

Handbooks

Handbooks are collections of scholarly essays on a topic and include extensive bibliographies of additional sources. Handbooks can be especially useful for research, since they help give you a "big picture" look at your topic AND lead you to peer-reviewed articles.

The following are a few examples of handbooks. You can search for more handbooks by simply adding AND handbook after your search terms.

21st Century Psychology: A Reference Handbook (Ebook) by Stephen F. Davis and William F. Buskist (Eds)
Publication Date: 2007
This two-volume reference resource...provides an authoritative source to serve students' research needs with more detailed information than encyclopedia entries but without the jargon, detail, or density found in a typical journal article or a research handbook chapter.
Oxford Handbook of Culture and Psychology (Ebook) by Jaan Valsiner
Publication Date: 2012
The goal of cultural psychology is to explain the ways in which human cultural constructions—for example, rituals, stereotypes, and meanings—organize and direct human acting, feeling, and thinking in different social contexts. Linking psychology, anthropology, sociology, archaeology, and history, The Oxford Handbook of Culture and Psychology is the quintessential volume that unites the variable perspectives from these disciplines.
SAGE Handbook of Prejudice, Stereotyping and Discrimination (Print Book) by Victoria M. Esses, Miles Hewstone, John F. Dovidio, and Peter Glick (Editors)
Publication Date: 2010
This handbook provides comprehensive coverage on the state of research, critical analysis. and promising avenues for further study on prejudice, stereotyping and discrimination. Each chapter presents in-depth reviews of specific topics, describing the current state of knowledge and identifying the most productive new directions for future research.
Oxford Handbook of Positive Psychology (Print Book) by Shane J. Lopez and C. R. Snyder (Editors)
Publication Date: 2011
The Oxford Handbook of Positive Psychology is the seminal reference in the field of positive psychology, which in recent years has transcended academia to capture the imagination of the general public. The handbook provides a roadmap for the psychology needed by the majority of the population—those who don't need treatment but want to achieve the lives to which they aspire.

Ask Your Librarian

Annie Smith

Contact:

Email Annie
FL410, Fulton Library

801.863.8752

Subjects: Cinema Studies, English & Literature, Ethnic Studies, General Interest Topic Guides, General Research, Languages, News & Current Events, Research Skills

Library Help

Call: 801.863.8840
Text: 801.290.8123

In-Person Help