This research guide is designed to help students in PSY 1010: General Psychology get started finding articles, books, and other resources for their research. It also includes tips for completing the Psychology in the News assignment to find a psychology news article and compare it with a peer-reviewed article. Not all PSY 1010 classes require this assignment, but it's helpful information for anyone with an interest in learning about psychology research!
To learn more about effective searching, read the Search Strategies page before delving into the available resources in this guide. Use the library's Psychology Research Guide for help with more advanced psychology research, such as finding psychological tests and measures.
If you need any assistance with your research, contact a librarian using the contact information included in this guide. We're happy to help!
The following resources are frequently used for psychology research at UVU. OneSearch (below) also works well, since it combines many databases plus the library's book and media collections. Explore the other pages of this guide to find additional resources for your research.
Peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Focuses on the field of psychiatry, such as psychiatric diagnosis, treatment, guidelines, research, and breaking news. Includes books, journals, and more.
Non-peer reviewed. Full-text content. Statistical & research data.
A repository of psychological tests particularly useful for qualitative research. Comprised of psychological measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments
OneSearch and ProQuest are the Fulton Library's main databases. They allow you to search the library's articles, books, streaming media, and more. OneSearch and ProQuest include resources on almost every topic, making it a great place to start your research!
To use either of these databases, go to the UVU Fulton Library Homepage link below. Use the tabs in the search box to navigate between OneSearch and ProQuest. Enter search terms into the box, then hit enter or click the magnifying glass.
We recommend using both databases because, while there is some overlap between the two, each database features a lot of unique content.
