This research guide is designed to help students in PSY 3030: Research Methods for Psychology successfully complete their research projects and corresponding assignments. Use this guide to learn strategies for locating peer-reviewed articles and statistics needed for your literature review, as well as tips for locating psychological instruments and measures that may be helpful in designing your research study.
This guide includes the following page to help with your project:
If you need any assistance with your research, contact a librarian using the contact information included in this guide. We're happy to help!
The following resources are frequently used for psychology research. OneSearch (below) also works well, since it combines many databases plus the library's book and media collections. Explore the other pages of this guide to find additional resources for your research.
Peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Focuses on the field of psychiatry, such as psychiatric diagnosis, treatment, guidelines, research, and breaking news. Includes books, journals, and more.
Non-peer reviewed. Full-text content. Statistical & research data.
A repository of psychological tests particularly useful for qualitative research. Comprised of psychological measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments
OneSearch and ProQuest are the Fulton Library's main databases. They allow you to search the library's articles, books, streaming media, and more. OneSearch and ProQuest include resources on almost every topic, making it a great place to start your research!
To use either of these databases, go to the UVU Fulton Library Homepage link below. Use the tabs in the search box to navigate between OneSearch and ProQuest. Enter search terms into the box, then hit enter or click the magnifying glass.
We recommend using both databases because, while there is some overlap between the two, each database features a lot of unique content.
For information on getting a research study with human subjects formally approved by the university, see the website for UVU's Institutional Review Board. IRB approval often isn't required for class research assignments, but their website may be helpful depending on the parameters of your project or if you decide to fully implement your project.
