Research Guides: PSY 3430: Psychopharmacology: Home

Welcome!

This guide is designed to help students in PSY 3430: Psychopharmacology successfully complete your Review Paper, where you'll need to find peer-reviewed research articles and then write a review summarizing what is currently known about your topic. The guide includes the following:

Review Papers: what makes an effective review paper and tips for writing them.
Identifying & Reading Research Articles: strategies for identifying primary source research articles and tips for reading them.
Find Articles: recommended databases plus search tips for finding the full text of peer-reviewed psychology and psychopharmacology articles.
Find Books: information on finding books from the Fulton Library, plus examples of psychopharmacology ebooks in our collection.
APA Citations: help with citing your sources in APA style.

If you need any assistance with your research, contact a librarian using the contact information included in this guide. We're happy to help!

Recommended Databases

The following databases are recommended for finding psychopharmacology research articles. Explore the other pages of this guide for more detailed help for your research assignments.

APA PsycInfo [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
This database from the American Psychological Association includes journal articles on a wide range of behavioral and social science topics, such as psychology, psychopharmacology, neuroscience, psychiatry, treatments and counseling, and addiction. Late 1800s-present, mostly peer-reviewed content, partial full text available.
APA PsycArticles [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
This database provides full text access to journal articles from the American Psychological Association. It covers a wide range of behavioral and social science topics, such as psychology, neuroscience, psychopharmacology, psychological treatment, and developmental psychology. 1984-present, peer-reviewed content, full text available.
PubMED [NLM] This link opens in a new window
Locates articles on topics in the life sciences, nursing, psychiatry, health care, and more. Partial full text available. 1950s-present, peer-reviewed content.
Psychiatry Online Premium [APA] This link opens in a new window
Peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Focuses on the field of psychiatry, such as psychiatric diagnosis, treatment, guidelines, research, and breaking news. Includes books, journals, and more.

OneSearch & ProQuest

OneSearch and ProQuest are the Fulton Library's main databases. They allow you to search the library's articles, books, streaming media, and more. OneSearch and ProQuest include resources on almost every topic, making it a great place to start your research!

To use either of these databases, go to the UVU Fulton Library Homepage link below. Use the tabs in the search box to navigate between OneSearch and ProQuest. Enter search terms into the box, then hit enter or click the magnifying glass.

We recommend using both databases because, while there is some overlap between the two, each database features a lot of unique content.