Research Guides: PSY 3450: Behavioral Neuroscience: Home

Welcome!

This guide is designed to help students in PSY 3450: Behavioral Neuroscience successfully complete their Article Critique, where they'll need to find and critique a research article that studies the brain. The guide includes the following:

Identifying & Reading Research Articles: learn strategies for identifying primary source research articles and tips for reading them effectively.
Find Articles: includes recommended databases plus search tips for finding the full text of peer-reviewed psychology and neuroscience articles.
APA Citations: help with citing your sources in APA style.

If you need any assistance with your research, contact a librarian using the contact information included in this guide. We're happy to help!

Recommended Databases

The following databases are recommended for finding neuroscience research articles. Explore the other pages of this guide for more detailed help for your research assignments.

APA PsycInfo [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
This database from the American Psychological Association includes journal articles on a wide range of behavioral and social science topics, such as psychology, neuroscience, psychiatry, pharmacology, treatments and counseling, and addiction. Late 1800s-present, mostly peer-reviewed content, partial full text available.
APA PsycArticles [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
This database provides full text access to journal articles from the American Psychological Association. It covers a wide range of behavioral and social science topics, such as psychology, neuroscience, psychological treatment, counseling, and developmental psychology. 1984-present, peer-reviewed content, full text available.
PubMED [NLM] This link opens in a new window
Locates articles on topics in the life sciences, nursing, psychiatry, health care, and more. Useful if you'd like to find more biological articles related to neuroscience. Partial full text available. 1950s-present, peer-reviewed content.
Psychiatry Online Premium [APA] This link opens in a new window
Peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Focuses on the field of psychiatry, such as psychiatric diagnosis, treatment, guidelines, research, and breaking news. Includes books, journals, and more.