For your article critique, you'll need to find a research article from a peer-reviewed journal, and it must be a primary source (no review articles, magazine articles, news stories, books, etc.). The topic of the research article must be related to behavioral neuroscience, and it should contain a technique that was used to study the brain specifically.
In the search box of the database you choose (links below), enter short keywords related to behavioral neuroscience. You could try keywords related to the five senses or other topics from class discussions or readings that interest you. Here are a few examples demonstrating how to format your keywords in the databases:
After running your search, use the filters to limit the results to peer-reviewed articles published in the last 10 years.
You can also try using a tool that allows you to search for research studies that used brain imaging. On the main search page in APA PsycInfo, scroll down and locate the Methodology section (screenshot below). Click Brain Imaging, and then click the Search button in the lower right corner to see a list of articles that used brain imaging. You can either leave the search box blank to find any article on brain imaging or add keywords in the search box to make the search more specific. If you try this search trick, be sure to select an article involving humans instead of an article involving mice or other animals!
Peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Covers social, industrial, experimental, evolutionary, cognitive, clinical, and situational psychology, as well as personality, psychobiology, and psychometrics. Offers abstracts, journals, and more.
Peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Focuses on the field of psychiatry, such as psychiatric diagnosis, treatment, guidelines, research, and breaking news. Includes books, journals, and more.
If you can't access the full text of an article using any of the resources on this page, use Interlibrary Loan to request the article. We'll locate another library that has the article and get you a PDF copy for free; this typically takes 2-3 business days. UVU students and employees should never pay for articles—the library has you covered!
