Research Guides: RUS 266G: Introduction to Russian Culture: Dance & Theatre

Russian Dance and Theatre

The following books are overviews of Russian dance, ballet, and theatre and are just a sampling of what's available at the Fulton Library. To find more books, use the instructions at the bottom of this page to search for books on specific works, choreographers, writers, playwrights, and others. Note: Don't forget to search for alternate spellings of Russian names if you don't find results after your first search.

In addition to these books, our streaming databases (below) include full productions of Russian plays as well as classic ballets performed by Russian companies.

Ballet & Dance

Bolshoi Confidential (Print Book) by Simon Morrison
Publication Date: 2016
With exclusive access to state archives and private sources, Morrison sweeps us through the history of the storied ballet, describing the careers of those onstage as well as off, tracing the political ties that bind the institution the varying Russian regimes, and detailing the birth of some of the best-loved ballets in the repertoire.
Great History of Russian Ballet (Print Book) by Evdokia Belova and E. Bocharnikova
Publication Date: 1998
Although the techniques of classical ballet were invented by French and Italian masters two hundred years ago, the Russian Ballet refined these techniques, thus enhancing its already superb performances...This book offers an encyclopedic overview of the entire history of the Russian Ballet, written by a team of scholars.

Theatre

Historical Dictionary of Russian Theater (Print Book) by Laurence Senelick
Publication Date: 2007
The Historical Dictionary of Russian Theater is the only reference work in English devoted exclusively to Russian theater and drama. It provides information on the popular plays and playwrights while also offering information on many persons, works, and phenomena omitted from standard encyclopedias. Through the use of a chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, an appendix, and hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries on directors, stage designers, actors, plays, playwrights, concepts, theater buildings, and troupes, this reference provides an unrivaled account of Russian theater.
Popular Theater and Society in Tsarist Russia (Ebook) by E. Anthony Swift
Publication Date: 2002
This is the most comprehensive study available of the popular theater that developed during the last decades of tsarist Russia. Swift examines the origins and significance of the new "people's theaters" that were created for the lower classes in St. Petersburg and Moscow between 1861 and 1917...Swift illuminates many aspects of the story of these popular theaters--the cultural politics and aesthetic ambitions of theater directors and actors, state censorship politics and their role in shaping the theatrical repertoire, and the theater as a vehicle for social and political reform. He looks at roots of the theaters, discusses specific theaters and performances, and explores in particular how popular audiences responded to the plays.
Popular Theatre Movement in Russia (Ebook) by Gary Thurston
Publication Date: 1998
In The Popular Theatre Movement in Russia, Gary Thurston illuminates the "popular theater" of pre-revolutionary Russia, which existed alongside the performing arts for the nation's economic elite. He shows how from Peter the Great's creation of Europe's first theater for popular enlightenment to Lenin's decree nationalizing all Soviet theaters, Russian rulers aggressively exploited this enduring art form for ideological ends rather than for its commercial potential...this study looks at how playwrights criticized Russian social and political realities, how various groups perceived their plays, and how the plays motivated viewers to change themselves or change their circumstances.

Video Databases

Videos are an important resource for dance research. We have dance videos on the second floor of the Fulton Library in section GV1580-1799.4. We also have the following databases that contain dance and performance videos.

Clips of dance performances can also be found on YouTube. For best results, search for the names of dance companies, choreographers, or specific dancers and performances.

Dance in Video [Alexander Street] This link opens in a new window
Non-peer reviewed. Full-text content. Videos.
Dance in Video showcases ethnic and folk dance, ballet, modern dance, jazz, tap, and many other dance styles. Contains instructional videos, documentaries, interviews, and more.
Academic Video Online (AVON) [Alexander Street] This link opens in a new window
Non-peer reviewed. No full-text content. Videos.
The database includes award-winning films and scholarly video material. Features virtually every video type, including documentaries, performances, news programs, field recordings, commercials, counseling sessions, and more.
Docuseek Films [DocuSeek] This link opens in a new window
Non-peer reviewed. No full-text content. Videos.
Docuseek provides video streaming of educational documentaries and social-issue films. Provides access to films from Bullfrog Films, Collective Eye Films, Icarus Films, Kartemquin Films, and more.
Kanopy Films [OverDrive] This link opens in a new window
Non-peer reviewed. Videos.
This on-demand video streaming service provides access to thousands of films. Offers award-winning film collections, including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation, and more.

Finding Books

This list is only a starting point of commonly used books in this area, not a complete list of library books on the subject. To find other books on this subject, use the search box on the library's homepage. To find other books on this subject, use the search box on the library's homepage. The search box defaults to OneSearch. To look for books, toggle over to Books. This will limit your search to books and ebooks.

Finding Books: UVU Fulton Library Homepage
Use the search box on the library's homepage to search for more books. Enter a few search terms, a title, or an author into the box, then hit enter or click the magnifying glass. Once your search runs, you can filter your results by clicking the All Filters button, located just below the search box.

Arts Librarian

Mary Naylor Stephens

Contact:

Email Mary
FL114, Fulton Library

801.863.8677

Subjects: Art & Art History, Dance, Music, Theatre

Library Help

Call: 801.863.8840
Text: 801.290.8123