Before you start searching for articles, think of your specific research question and the main ideas you plan to write about. This will help you identify search terms to use in the databases and make your search process more efficient.
Once you've identified the main ideas you plan to research, combine your search terms using AND to create a search string you can use in a database. Make sure that any phrases have quotation marks. For example:
For more strategies to improve your searching, see the Search Strategies page in this guide.
Use the following databases to find articles about anthropology. While these databases primarily include scholarly, peer-reviewed articles, they may also include other types of sources such as dissertations, book reviews, and magazine articles.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
This database focuses on psychology and explores topics like psychiatry, pharmacology, linguistics, treatments, counseling, addiction, and more. Contains APA journals and articles
The following are recommended anthropology journals. After you click on a link, you'll arrive at the landing page for the publication. Click on one of the links under Full Text Access to see issues of or articles from the publication.
If you can't access the full text of an article using any of the resources on this page, use Interlibrary Loan to request the article. We'll locate another library that has the article and get you a PDF copy for free; this typically takes 2-3 business days. UVU students and employees should never pay for articles—the library has you covered!
