Research Guides: Anthropology: Web Resources

Professional Associations

The following are professional associations for anthropology. Their websites are useful for learning about the latest anthropology research and news, and finding career resources and professional development opportunities.

American Anthropological Association (AAA)
Founded in 1902, the American Anthropological Association (AAA) is the world’s largest scholarly and professional organization of anthropologists. Use their website to learn about anthropology research topics, and find career and professional development opportunities.
American Association of Biological Anthropologists (AAPA)
The AABA is the world's leading professional organization for physical anthropologists. Formed by 83 charter members in 1930, the AABA now has an international membership of over 2,200.
Society for American Archaeology (SAA)
The SAA is an international organization dedicated to the research, interpretation, and protection of the archaeological heritage of the Americas. With about 7,500 members, the society represents professional, student, and avocational archaeologists working in a variety of settings including government agencies, colleges and universities, museums, and the private sector.
Archaeological Institute of America (AIA)
The Archaeological Institute of America (AIA) is the world's oldest and largest archaeological organization. They have members in more than 100 Local Societies in the United States, Canada, and overseas. These members include professional archaeologists, students, and enthusiasts, all united by their passion for archaeology and its role in furthering human knowledge.
Society for Medical Anthropology (SMA)
The Society for Medical Anthropology (SMA), formed in 1967 and incorporated into the American Anthropological Association (AAA) in 1971, is dedicated to the profession and practice of medical anthropology, which uses concepts and methods from anthropology to produce new understandings of health, disease, illness, treatment, and care.

Digital Collections & Museums

The following are museums and libraries with digital collections and online exhibits useful for anthropology research. You can find many similar digital collections online.

Mountain West Digital Library [MWDL] This link opens in a new window
Non-peer reviewed. Full-text content. Open access.
Indexes digital resources from universities, colleges, public libraries, museums, archives, and historical societies in Utah, Nevada, Idaho, Arizona, Montana, and Hawaii. Includes photos, maps, art, oral histories, books, and more.
Digital Public Library of America [DPLA] This link opens in a new window
Non-peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Open access. Audio recordings. Videos.
Focuses on the breadth of human expression and the riches of America's libraries, archives, and museums. Indexes the written word, works of art and culture, records of America's heritage, and the efforts and data of science.

Smithsonian Collections
The Smithsonian's collections represent the United State's rich heritage, art from across the globe, and the immense diversity of the natural and cultural world.
Museo Nacional de Anthropología
Website for the Museum of Anthropology in Mexico City. Includes online exhibits and digital collections.
British Museum
The British Museum is unique in bringing together under one roof the cultures of the world, spanning continents and oceans. Its eight million objects allow visitors to explore the extraordinary diversity of human cultures, from small communities to vast empires, to discover the many forms and expressions human beings have given to every aspect of life, and to realize how closely they are interconnected.
Canadian Museum of History
The Canadian Museum of History shares its expertise in history, archaeology, ethnology and cultural studies both within Canada and abroad.

Ask Your Librarian

Annie Smith

Contact:

Email Annie
FL410, Fulton Library

801.863.8752

Subjects: Cinema Studies, English & Literature, Ethnic Studies, General Interest Topic Guides, General Research, Languages, News & Current Events, Research Skills

Library Help

Call: 801.863.8840
Text: 801.290.8123

In-Person Help