Research Guides: Anthropology: Find Books

Finding Books

This page includes a starting list of reference books to help with your anthropology research, as well as instructions for locating more books from the library.

Find Books: UVU Fulton Library Homepage
Use the search box on the library's homepage to search for more books. The search box defaults to OneSearch. To look for books and ebooks, toggle over to Books. This will limit your search to books and ebooks only. You can also find anthropology books by browsing the GN section on the Fulton Library's 4th floor.

Books and Ebooks

Encyclopedia of Anthropology (Ebook) by H. James Birx (Editor)
Publication Date: 2006
This book is also available in print.
Encyclopedia of Anthropology is a unique collection of over 1,000 entries that focuses on topics in physical anthropology, archaeology, cultural anthropology, linguistics, and applied anthropology. Also included are relevant articles on geology, paleontology, biology, evolution, sociology, psychology, philosophy, and theology.
Oxford Dictionary of Cultural Anthropology (Ebook) by Luis A. Vivanco
Publication Date: 2018
This new dictionary provides concise, authoritative definitions for a range of concepts relating to cultural anthropology, as well as important findings and intellectual figures in the field. Entries include adaptation, kinship, scientific racism, and writing culture, providing its readers with a wide-ranging overview of the subject.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology (Ebook) by Alan Barnard and Jonathan Spencer (Editors)
Publication Date: 2010
Written by leading scholars in the field, this comprehensive and readable resource gives anthropology students a unique guide to the ideas, arguments and history of the discipline.
Small Places, Large Issues: An Introduction to Social and Cultural Anthropology (Ebook) by Thomas Hylland Eriksen
Publication Date: 2015
This concise introduction to social and cultural anthropology has become a modern classic, introducing countless students to the field and the tools it offers for exploring some of the most complicated questions of human life and interaction.

Handbooks

Handbooks are collections of scholarly essays on a topic and include extensive bibliographies of additional sources. Handbooks can be especially useful for research, since they help give you a "big picture" look at your topic AND lead you to peer-reviewed articles.

The following are a few examples of handbooks. You can search for more handbooks by simply adding AND handbook after your search terms.

Handbook of Sociocultural Anthropology (Ebook) by James G. Carrier and Deborah B. Gewertz (Editors)
Publication Date: 2013
Presents a state of the art overview of sociocultural anthropology—its methodologies, current debates, history and future. It will provide the ultimate source of authoritative, critical descriptions of all the key aspects of the discipline as well as a consideration of the general state of the discipline at a time when there is notable uncertainty about its foundations, composition and direction.
SAGE Handbook of Social Anthropology (Print Book) by Richard Fardon, John Gledhill, Oliva Harris, Trevor H. J. Marchand, Mark Nuttall, Cris Shore, Veronica Strang, and Richard A. Wilson (Editors)
Publication Date: 2012
The SAGE Handbook of Social Anthropology is a contemporary landmark volume that defines the field and outlines new directions in research. Divided into four sections, each edited by leading figures in social anthropology, this exhaustive handbook covers interfaces, places, methodologies and futures.
Oxford Handbook of the Archaeology and Anthropology of Hunter-Gatherers (Print Book) by Vicki Cummings, Peter Jordan, and Marek Zvelebil (Editors)
Publication Date: 2014
The Oxford Handbook of the Archaeology and Anthropology of Hunter-Gatherers provides a comprehensive review of hunter-gatherer studies to date, including critical engagements with older debates, new theoretical perspectives, and renewed obligations for greater engagement between researchers and indigenous communities.
Handbook of Methods in Cultural Anthropology (Print Book) by H. Russell Bernard and Clarence C. Gravlee (Editors)
Publication Date: 2015
The Handbook of Methods in Cultural Anthropology, now in its second edition, maintains a strong benchmark for understanding the scope of contemporary anthropological field methods. Spanning the chain of research, from designing a project through methods of data collection and interpretive analysis, the handbook features new chapters on ethnography of online communities, social survey research, and network and geospatial analysis.