Research Guides: Autism Studies: Autism Assessment and Treatment

Introduction to Autism Assessment and Treatment

In the Autism Studies program, you may be asked to research medical aspects of autism. For more information about researching the field of medicine generally, see the Public Health Research Guide.

Public Health Research Guide
This guide contains resources for finding information related to public health and medicine, as well as tips for using this information.

Databases

Use the following databases to find articles about clinical aspects of autism. Remember that not all articles you find in these databases will be scholarly, peer-reviewed articles.

PubMED [NLM] This link opens in a new window
Peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Open access. Statistical & research data.
Dedicated to the medical field, including life sciences, oncology, nursing, dentistry, psychiatry, health care, veterinary science, anesthesiology, and more. Includes articles and other authoritative content.
ScienceDirect Journals [Elsevier] This link opens in a new window
Peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Focuses on the life sciences, physical sciences, medical sciences, and technology, with access to scientific, technical, and medical research. Includes journal articles, book chapters, and publications.
APA PsycInfo [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
This database focuses on psychology and explores topics like psychiatry, pharmacology, linguistics, treatments, counseling, addiction, and more. Contains APA journals and articles

Journals

Use the following publications to search for articles to use in your research or read through issues of the journal to keep up with developments in the field—or both! Once you click on a link, you'll arrive at the landing page for the publication. Click on one of the links under full text access to see issues of or articles from the publication.

Autism Research and Treatment
Provides information about research related to all aspects of autism and includes case reports and clinical studies.
Research in Autism Spectrum Disorders
Publishes high quality empirical articles and reviews that contribute to a better understanding of autism spectrum disorders (ASD) at all levels of description; genetic, neurobiological, cognitive, and behavioral.
Journal of Mental Health Research in Intellectual Disabilities
Presents original scientific and scholarly contributions to advance knowledge about mental health issues among persons with intellectual disabilities and related developmental disabilities, especially autism spectrum disorders and genetic phenotypes.
Molecular Autism
Covers basic, translational, and clinical research into the molecular basis of autism and related neurodevelopmental conditions.

Books and Ebooks

Autism Spectrum Disorders (Ebook) by Eric Hollander, Randi Hagerman, and Deborah Fein (Editors)
Publication Date: 2018
The book begins with the epidemiology of ASDs, which have increased in prevalence, and explores genetic heritability and environmental risk factors. It then explains the roles of the psychiatrist, neurologist and pediatrician in assessing the patient, examines assessment tools and processes, and describes the latest advances in a variety of treatments and interventions. The text's focus is on educating and empowering families and health care providers to determine whether appropriate genetic testing and counseling have been undertaken, whether the individual has had the relevant assessment, and whether skilled behavioral treatment and additional medical assessment or treatment are required.
Best Practice Guide to Assessment and Intervention for Autism Spectrum Disorder in Schools, Second Edition (Ebook) by Lee Wilkinson
Publication Date: 2017
Fully updated to reflect DSM-5 and current assessment tools, procedures and research, this award-winning book provides a practical and scientifically-based approach to identifying, assessing, and treating children and adolescents with an autism spectrum disorder (ASD) in school settings. Integrating current research evidence with theory and best-practice, the book will support school-based professionals in a number of key areas.
Re-Thinking Autism: Diagnosis, Identity and Equality (Ebook) by Katherine Runswick-Cole, Rebecca Mallett, and Sami Timimi (Editors)
Publication Date: 2016
Challenging existing approaches to autism that limit, and sometimes damage, the individuals who attract and receive the label, this book questions the lazy prejudices and assumptions that can surround autism as a diagnosis in the 21st century. Arguing that autism can only be understood through examining it as a socially or culturally produced phenomenon, the authors offer a critique of the medical model that has produced a perpetually marginalizing approach to autism, and explain the contradictions and difficulties inherent in existing attitudes.
Evidence-Based Assessment in ASD (Autism Spectrum Disorder) (Ebook) by Kenneth Aitken
Publication Date: 2017
Advocating for an increased emphasis on evidence-based practice, this book describes and analyzes a wide range of available autism spectrum disorder (ASD) assessment measures. The author offers guidance on how to evaluate services and programs and how to recognize which will be most effective in different scenarios for people with differing needs.

Finding Books

This list is only a starting point of commonly used books in this area, not a complete list of library books on the subject. To find other books on this subject, use the search box on the library's homepage. To find other books on this subject, use the search box on the library's homepage. The search box defaults to OneSearch. To look for books, toggle over to Books. This will limit your search to books and ebooks.

Finding Books: UVU Fulton Library Homepage
Use the search box on the library's homepage to search for more books. Enter a few search terms, a title, or an author into the box, then hit enter or click the magnifying glass. Once your search runs, you can filter your results by clicking the All Filters button, located just below the search box.

Library Help

Call: 801.863.8840
Text: 801.290.8123