Research Guides: Earth Science : Home

Getting Started

This research guide is designed to help students researching earth science get started finding articles, books, and other resources in this subject area. It is organized by the types of resources you may want to use in your projects, including:

Search Strategies: learn how to effectively search our databases. Read this page before delving into the other resources in this guide.
Find Articles: includes databases and journals most effective for your research.
Find News: help locating news articles using the Fulton Library's resources.
Find Books: has a few examples of books and ebooks in our collection, as well as information about how to find more books.
Web Resources: contains websites with government-sponsored and other resources for earth science information.
Citations: help with citing your sources in APA or Chicago style.

If you need any assistance with your research, contact a librarian using the contact information included in this guide. We're happy to help!

Most Used Resources

nature.com [Springer] This link opens in a new window
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Specializes in nature research. Provides access to all news, analysis, commentary, and journal content on the nature.com platform, including archived content.
ScienceDirect Journals [Elsevier] This link opens in a new window
Peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Focuses on the life sciences, physical sciences, medical sciences, and technology, with access to scientific, technical, and medical research. Includes journal articles, book chapters, and publications.
Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database [ProQuest] This link opens in a new window
Peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Encompasses geoscience, meteorology, climatology, aquatic science, and related disciplines. Includes academic journals, trade journals, and more.

United States Geological Survey
Since 1879, The U.S. Geological Survey has been the most reliable source for practical information regarding natural resources. They create, analyze, and disseminate scientific information to the public. They are the nation’s largest water, earth, and biological science and civilian mapping agency and provide impressive data and mapping tools for general consumption.

OneSearch

OneSearch is the Fulton Library's main database. It allows you to search the library's articles, books, streaming media, and more. OneSearch includes resources on almost every topic, making it a great place to start your research!

To use OneSearch, go to the UVU Fulton Library Homepage link below. OneSearch is the main search box on the page. Enter search terms into the box, then hit enter or click the magnifying glass. Once your search runs, you can filter your results clicking the All Filters button that appears below the search box.