In your policy brief, you will need to summarize peer-reviewed research articles related to your chosen topic. This research will help your audience understand the extent and causes of the problem you're attempting to address, as well as best practices or evidence-based solutions that have been identified through research. As you make policy recommendations in your brief, you will use this research as evidence as to why your policy recommendations are a good idea.
This page includes links to recommended databases you can use to locate peer-reviewed research articles related to family policy. When you're ready to search for articles, think of the main ideas you plan to focus on. Once you've identified the main ideas you plan to research, combine your search terms using AND to create a database search string.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Focuses on business, humanities, law, social sciences, and science, technology, and medicine. Includes journal articles.
Peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Open access. Statistical & research data.
Dedicated to the medical field, including life sciences, oncology, nursing, dentistry, psychiatry, health care, veterinary science, anesthesiology, and more. Includes articles and other authoritative content.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
This database focuses on psychology and explores topics like psychiatry, pharmacology, linguistics, treatments, counseling, addiction, and more. Contains APA journals and articles
Peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Covers the field of psychology, with topics relating to mental illness, psychological treatment, counseling, developmental psychology, and educational psychology. Includes access to APA journal within these subjects.
The following are recommended family science and marriage & family therapy journals. After you click on a link, you'll arrive at the landing page for the publication. Click on one of the links under Full Text Access to see issues of or articles from the publication.
If you can't access the full text of an article using any of the resources on this page, use Interlibrary Loan to request the article. We'll locate another library that has the article and get you a PDF copy for free; this typically takes 2-3 business days. UVU students and employees should never pay for articles—the library has you covered!
