Research Guides: Languages: Find Articles in Other Languages

Finding Articles in Other Languages

Finding articles in specific languages is very similar to finding articles in English, but with some key changes:

Use search terms in your target language. For example, to find articles about climate change in Spanish, try calentamiento global, ensuciamiento de aire, or gases de invernadero.
Limit your search results to your target language using the database's filters, if any. These filters might appear at the beginning of your search, on the advanced search page, or on the results page. See the examples below. The example on the left is from JSTOR, showing the language filter on its advanced search page. The example on the right is from OneSearch, showing the language filter, which is available on the All Filters menu from the results page.

NOTE: Our databases don't translate articles. These search tips can only find articles that were originally written in your target language.

Databases

In addition to OneSearch (see below), we recommend the following databases for finding articles in foreign languages.

Latin America & Iberian Database [ProQuest] This link opens in a new window
Peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Explores economics, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and the humanities. Contains scientific periodicals published in Spain, Portugal, and Latin American countries.
Directory of Open Access Journals [DOAJ] This link opens in a new window
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Open access.
This multidisciplinary database includes education, biology, health and medicine, psychology, mathematics, business, linguistics, and art. Features open access journals from around the world.
Informe Académico [Gale] This link opens in a new window
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Dedicated to the research needs of Spanish-speaking users with content both from and about Latin America. Features a wide range of full-text Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines.
JSTOR [ITHAKA] This link opens in a new window
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
This multidisciplinary database includes subjects like literature, history, art, sociology, psychology, mathematics, communication, and science. Contains ebooks, articles, and journals.
Linguistics Database [ProQuest] This link opens in a new window
Peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Covers all linguistic aspects such as phonetics and phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics. Offers access to journals and other scientific sources.

OneSearch & ProQuest

OneSearch and ProQuest are the Fulton Library's main databases. They allow you to search the library's articles, books, streaming media, and more. OneSearch and ProQuest include resources on almost every topic, making it a great place to start your research!

To use either of these databases, go to the UVU Fulton Library Homepage link below. Use the tabs in the search box to navigate between OneSearch and ProQuest. Enter search terms into the box, then hit enter or click the magnifying glass.

We recommend using both databases because, while there is some overlap between the two, each database features a lot of unique content.

UVU Fulton Library Homepage
The library's main page. Access OneSearch, help options, library hours, and more.

Library Help

Call: 801.863.8840
Text: 801.290.8123