Research Guides: Languages: Chinese

Books

Books about and in Chinese can be found on the fourth floor of the library, in section PL1001 - 3208.

Dictionaries

Beginner's Mandarin Chinese Dictionary (Ebook) by Philip Yungkin Lee and Li Dong
Publication Date: 2017
The Beginner's Chinese Dictionary is an ideal dictionary for students of the Chinese language. It is specifically designed for learners of Chinese and covers 2,500 essential vocabulary items, including all vocabulary prescribed for Levels 1-5 of the standard test of proficiency in Chinese, Hanyu Shuiping Kaoshi (HSK).
Essential Mandarin Chinese Phrasebook and Dictionary (Ebook) by Catherine Dai
Publication Date: 2017
Essential Mandarin Chinese Phrasebook & Dictionary presents the practical language of everyday interactions, conveyed in a way that's clear, concise, accessible, and enjoyable. It includes significant sentences used when meeting people, starting conversations, and asking and replying to questions, as well as a basic Chinese grammar and pronunciation guide to help you start speaking Mandarin right away.
Tuttle Pocket Mandarin Chinese Dictionary: English-Chinese Chinese-English (Ebook) by Li Dong
Publication Date: 2018
This handy Mandarin dictionary allows you to look up words quickly and easily—and be understood while speaking. The Tuttle Pocket Mandarin Chinese Dictionary is a pocket-sized dictionary designed for travelers, business people, and beginner Chinese language students.

Grammar Guides

Grammar of Mandarin (Ebook) by Jeroen Wiedenhof
Publication Date: 2015
A fascinating description of a global language, A Grammar of Mandarin combines broad perspectives with illuminating depth. Crammed with examples from everyday conversations, it aims to let the language speak for itself.
Using Chinese: A Guide to Contemporary Usage (Ebook) by Yvonne Li Walls and Jan W. Walls
Publication Date: 2009
This book is a guide to Chinese usage for students who have already acquired the basics of the language and wish to extend their knowledge. Unlike conventional grammars, it addresses many aspects of Chinese language usage, such as letter writing, idioms, proverbs, and riddles.

Reading and Writing Guides

Mandarin Chinese Characters Made Easy: Learn 1,000 Chinese Characters the Fun and Easy Way (Ebook) by Michael L. Kluemper and Kit-Yee Nam Nadeau
Publication Date: 2016
Learning the necessary characters used to write even simple Chinese sentences can be a long and arduous process. Mandarin Chinese Characters Made Easy makes the learning process fun and easy by presenting the 1,000 most common characters using a new mnemonic approach that associates each character with a memorable visual and verbal clue—making memorization easy.
Reading and Writing - Chinese (Ebook) by William McNaughton
Publication Date: 2005-07-15
This new edition focuses on the internationally recognized test of Chinese language proficiency, the Hanyu Shuiping Kaoshi (HSK). All 800 characters prescribed for Level A are covered here, and the 1400+ Levels B and C characters are covered concisely. All of the prescribed vocabulary for Levels A-C of the Hanyu Shuiping Kaoshi is included among the example compounds.

Videos

Films in Mandarin and Cantonese can be found on the second floor of the library. (Some titles are listed as Chinese, instead of being differentiated into a specific Chinese language.) Foreign language titles are arranged in alphabetical order by language in call number section PN1995.9 .F67.

To find videos in Mandarin, Cantonese, and Chinese:

Go to the Fulton Library's advanced catalog search.
In the Item Type box, select your preferred video format. The library has titles available in DVD and Blu-ray.
Select your preferred language in the Languages drop box under the Item Types.
Click search! You do not need to enter actual search terms to browse our videos.

Library Help

Call: 801.863.8840
Text: 801.290.8123