Research Guides: Languages: German

Books

Books about the German language are located on the fourth floor of the Fulton Library, in section PF 3001-5999 . Books written in German are also on the fourth floor, in section PT 1-4897.

Dictionaries

Collins German Dictionary (Print Book)
Publication Date: 2010
With more than 90,000 references and 118,000 translations, this dictionary is designed to help the user understand the language of the German media and contemporary literature. It includes a guide to German grammar, and entries on German life and culture.
Mastering German Vocabulary: A Practical Guide to Troublesome Words (Ebook) by Bruce Donaldson
Publication Date: 2004
How often have you looked up an English word in a German dictionary only to be confronted by a bewildering array of German equivalents? Which is the correct word for the context in question? Thirty years' experience in teaching Germanic languages at tertiary level to English-speaking students have made the author acutely aware of this problem. Mastering German Vocabulary explains how to use more than 2,200 common German words correctly, using example sentences in German with English translations.
Pocket Oxford German Dictionary, Fourth Ed. (Ebook)
Publication Date: 2012
Essential vocabulary, clear translations, usage and grammar help in this German-English dictionary.

Grammar Guides

German Demystified (Print Book) by Edward Swick
Publication Date: 2007
Organised into 20 chapters that cover key grammar topics, this book contains the building blocks for the storehouse of your new German language skills. Test yourself at the end of every chapter for encouragement on your way to speaking, writing, and understanding German.
German Verbs & Essential of Grammar, Second Edition (Print Book) by Charles James
Publication Date: 2008
The all-in-one resource to sharpen your German verb and grammar skills. In addition to providing essential concepts regarding verbs and grammar, this new edition of the German Verbs & Essentials of Grammar includes a brand-new feature: an index of the 300 most popular verbs, which can be cross-referenced with the numerous verb tables appearing throughout the book.
Student Grammar of German (Ebook) by Paul Stocker and Christopher Young
Publication Date: 2012
A Student Grammar of German is an invaluable reference guide for undergraduates and other intermediate and advanced students. Written with the needs of the learner very much in mind, it sets out the grammar of the language in a clear and jargon-free way.

Videos

Films in German can be found on the second floor of the library. Foreign language titles are arranged in alphabetical order by language in call number section PN1995.9 .F67 GERMAN.

To find videos in German:

Go to the Fulton Library's advanced catalog search.
In the Item Type box, select your preferred video format. The library has titles available in DVD and Blu-ray.
Select German in the Languages drop box under the Item Types.
Click search! You do not need to enter actual search terms to browse our videos.