Research Guides: Mathematics &amp; Statistics: Math Resources

Library Databases

ArXiv This link opens in a new window
Non-peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Open access.
ArXiv focuses on the fields of mathematics, physics, computer science, quantitative biology, and statistics. Includes academic papers awaiting peer review.
Association for Computing Machinery Publications [ACM] This link opens in a new window
Peer reviewed. Full-text content.
This database encompasses computer science and security, mathematics, programming, robotics, artificial intelligence, and information systems. Includes journals and articles within these fields.
JSTOR [ITHAKA] This link opens in a new window
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
This multidisciplinary database includes subjects like literature, history, art, sociology, psychology, mathematics, communication, and science. Contains ebooks, articles, and journals.
MathSciNet [AMS] This link opens in a new window
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Explores the field of mathematics, including applied and theoretical mathematics, statistics, physics, algebra, calculus, trigonometry, geometry, and related topics. Contains periodicals.
nature.com [Springer] This link opens in a new window
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Specializes in nature research. Provides access to all news, analysis, commentary, and journal content on the nature.com platform, including archived content.
ScienceDirect Journals [Elsevier] This link opens in a new window
Peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Focuses on the life sciences, physical sciences, medical sciences, and technology, with access to scientific, technical, and medical research. Includes journal articles, book chapters, and publications.
Web of Science [Clarivate] This link opens in a new window
Peer reviewed. No full-text content. Statistical & research data.
This interdisciplinary database focuses on scientific and academic research. Provides bibliographic and citation information for journal articles.

Journals

Use the following publications to either search for articles in your research or to keep up with the field—or both! Once you click on a link, you'll arrive at the landing page for the publication. Click on one of the links under full text access to see issues of or articles from the publication.

Journal of the American Mathematical Society
Journal of the AMS is devoted to research articles of the highest quality in all areas of pure and applied mathematics. Contains research articles in all areas of pure and applied mathematics. (Full Text Delay: 6 years)
American Mathematical Monthly
Articles, notes and other features about mathematics and the profession intended to include everybody who is mathematically inclined, including professional mathematicians and students of mathematics at all college levels. (Full Text Delay: 4 years)
Mathematics Magazine
Articles that provide lively and appealing mathematical exposition that is attractive and accessible to undergraduates and helpful in supplementing undergraduate courses or stimulating student investigations. (Full Text Delay: 4 years)

Books

O'Reilly Safari Learning Platform [O'Reilly] This link opens in a new window
Non-peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
This learning platform covers computer science, business, communication, digital media, mathematics, and more. Contains books, audiobooks, and videos. Content cannot be downloaded; small portions can be printed.

Anachronisms in the History of Mathematics (Print Book) by Niccolò Guicciardini (Editor)
Publication Date: 2021
This book adopts a bottom-up approach to the many problems concerning anachronism in the history of mathematics. Some of the leading scholars in the field of history of mathematics reflect on the applicability of present-day mathematical language, concepts, standards, disciplinary boundaries, indeed notions of mathematics itself, to well-chosen historical case studies belonging to the mathematics of the past, in European and non-European cultures.
Art of Mathematics: Take Two (Print Book) by Béla Bollobás
Publication Date: 2022
Lovers of mathematics, young and old, professional and amateur, will enjoy this book. It is mathematics with fun: a collection of attractive problems that will delight and test readers. Many of the problems are drawn from the large number that have entertained and challenged students, guests and colleagues over the years during afternoon tea. Follow threads for an enjoyable and enriching journey through mathematics.
Brief History of Mathematics for Curious Minds
Publication Date: 2023
This book offers a short and accessible account of the history of mathematics, written for the intelligent layman to gain a better appreciation of its beauty, relevance, and place in history. It traces the development of the subject throughout the centuries, starting with the so-called Lebombo bone, the oldest known mathematical object that was estimated to be at least 43,000 years old, and ending with the 21st century.
History of Women in Mathematics: Exploring the Trailblazers of STEM (Print Book) by Dale DeBakcsy
Publication Date: 2023
From ancient Greece to medieval Baghdad, from Revolutionary France to China's Qing Dynasty, women mathematicians have worked alongside men to a degree that was denied them in most other fields of scientific inquiry. A History of Women in Mathematics, the first comprehensive account of women's role in mathematics in 35 years, tells the stories of over a hundred women, some of whom had to go to the lengths of lying about their gender in correspondence, or secrete themselves behind screens during lectures to access the mathematical resources that their male counterparts took for granted, but many of whom had positions of academic honor and international prestige that women in other fields would have to wait centuries to attain.

Library Help

Call: 801.863.8840
Text: 801.290.8123