When searching for data, you should consider what exactly you'd like to study, including:
Like most research topics, there will not be available data about every topic. Some data may be behind a paywall, private, or simply not exist. This might mean you have to rethink what kind of data you'd like to analyze.
The following resources can be useful for locating data sets.
Non-peer reviewed. Full-text content. Open access. Statistical & research data.
Indexes data from the latest U.S. Census, including population, education, business, economic, and ethnic information. This database can be used to locate statistics and create custom tables of census data.When looking for statistics, keep in mind who might be collecting the statistics you need. You may also want to think about your timeframe and geography, as well.
Non-peer reviewed. Full-text content. Statistical & research data.
Offers current global economic and social statistics. Contains data for economic trends and developments, including population, industrial production indices, price indices, employment, and more.
Non-peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Statistical & research data.
Specializes all areas of social science research, including anthropology, sociology, psychology, and the humanities. Contains social, political, and economic data summaries of the U.S.Non-peer reviewed. Full-text content. Statistical & research data.
Digital copy of The Historical Abstracts of the United States. Can be used to search for statistical data on education, demographics, employment, vital statistics, economics, and more. Covers the entire history of the United States.