Use the following databases to find scholarly research about physics. To improve your searches, use the Search Strategies page to learn more about searching databases.
Peer reviewed. No full-text content. Statistical & research data.
This interdisciplinary database focuses on scientific and academic research. Provides bibliographic and citation information for journal articles.
Peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Covers topics such as optics, astrophysics, chemical and biological physics, electronics, nuclear physics, and quantum mechanics. Contains articles published by the Institute of Physics.
Non-peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Open access.
ArXiv focuses on the fields of mathematics, physics, computer science, quantitative biology, and statistics. Includes academic papers awaiting peer review.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Explores the field of mathematics, including applied and theoretical mathematics, statistics, physics, algebra, calculus, trigonometry, geometry, and related topics. Contains periodicals.
Peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Focuses on the life sciences, physical sciences, medical sciences, and technology, with access to scientific, technical, and medical research. Includes journal articles, book chapters, and publications.
Peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Dedicated to the study of general and applied science. Includes journal articles and scientific records.
Non-peer reviewed. No full-text content.
Covers interdisciplinary topics, such as philosophy, mathematics, literature, history, engineering, technology, and communications. Includes theses and dissertations from all disciplines.
Partially peer reviewed. No full-text content.
Includes topics such as organic and inorganic chemistry, biochemistry, pharmaceuticals, chemical engineering, and applied and analytical chemistry. Contains articles, reports, patents, monographs, books, and more. You must register to use Chemical Abstracts.
Peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Explores more than 175 interdisciplinary subjects and serves as a central resource for researchers. Contains periodical titles, scholarly articles, and other sources.
Peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Encompasses geoscience, meteorology, climatology, aquatic science, and related disciplines. Includes academic journals, trade journals, and more.
The following journals are Peer Reviewed Scholarly Journals. This means that the articles within these journals were written by experts and are reviewed by several other experts in the field before publication. This ensures the articles' quality. Be aware, however, that non-article items published in peer-reviewed journals like book reviews, editorials, letters to the editor, and news items are not peer-reviewed.
The following magazines and publications are not peer reviewed, but can still provide a good deal of information about topic in physics.
If you can't access the full text of an article using any of the resources on this page, use Interlibrary Loan to request the article. We'll locate another library that has the article and get you a PDF copy for free; this typically takes 2-3 business days. UVU students and employees should never pay for articles—the library has you covered!