Research Guides: Psychology: Find Articles

Finding Articles

Before you start searching for articles, think of your specific research question and the main ideas you plan to write about. Once you've identified the main ideas you plan to research, combine your search terms using AND to create a search string you can use in a database. For example: anxiety AND mindfulness AND adolescents. For more strategies to improve your searching, see the Searching Strategies page in this guide.

Video Tutorial

Watch the video below for an overview of using APA PsycINFO to find scholarly articles. The concepts in this video also apply to using other library databases, like OneSearch. The video includes tips for finding PDF copies of articles and generating APA style citations.

Databases

Use the following databases to find articles. While these databases primarily include scholarly, peer-reviewed articles, they may also include other types of sources such as dissertations, book reviews, and magazine articles.

Psychology Databases

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
OneSearch works well for locating psychology articles, since it inclues all of the library's main psychology databases. Use the filters to limit to peer-reviewed articles. OneSearch is the main search box on the Fulton Library's homepage and combines many databases plus the library's book and media collections.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
This database from the American Psychological Association includes journal articles on a wide range of behavioral and social science topics, such as psychology, psychiatry, pharmacology, linguistics, treatments and counseling, and addiction. Late 1800s-present, mostly peer-reviewed content, partial full text available.
APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
This database provides full text access to journal articles from the American Psychological Association. It covers a wide range of behavioral and social science topics, such as psychology, psychological treatment, counseling, developmental psychology, and educational psychology. 1984-present, peer-reviewed content, full text available.
APA PsychTESTS This link opens in a new window
Non-peer reviewed. Full-text content. Statistical & research data.
A repository of psychological tests particularly useful for qualitative research. Comprised of psychological measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments
Psychology Database This link opens in a new window
Psychology Database offers abstracts and indexes of more than 640 titles, 540 of them full text. Many titles are indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage covers the topics of social, industrial, experimental, evolutionary, cognitive, clinical, and situational psychology, as well as personality, psychobiology, and psychometrics.
Psychiatry Online Premium This link opens in a new window
Peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Focuses on the field of psychiatry, such as psychiatric diagnosis, treatment, guidelines, research, and breaking news. Includes books, journals, and more.

Clinical & Health Sciences Databases

PubMED This link opens in a new window
Peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Open access. Statistical & research data.
Dedicated to the medical field, including life sciences, oncology, nursing, dentistry, psychiatry, health care, veterinary science, anesthesiology, and more. Includes articles and other authoritative content.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Explores consumer health, nursing, medicine, and alternative medicine. Contains journals and books within these subject areas

Multidisciplinary Databases

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar works well to find psychology research articles. Use it in conjunction with library databases, such as OneSearch, if you cannot access the full text of an article using Google Scholar.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a journal archive that contains older psychology journal articles as far back as the late1800s. It can locate articles written by foundational psychologists such as Freud, Jung, Piaget, Skinner, and more.
ScienceDirect Journals This link opens in a new window
Access to journals in biology, psychology, technology, economics, nursing, Health Sciences, and law. Complete full text from 1995-present; collection can be searched from first issues-present with partial full text available. Peer-reviewed content.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Peer reviewed. No full-text content. Statistical & research data.
This interdisciplinary database focuses on scientific and academic research. Provides bibliographic and citation information for journal articles.

A-Z Database List
Full list of databases available through the Fulton Library, with recommendations for researching specific subjects.

Psychology Journals

American Journal of Psychology AJP explores the science of the mind and behavior, publishing reports of original research in experimental psychology, theoretical presentations, combined theoretical and experimental analyses, historical commentaries, and in-depth reviews of significant books. (Full Text Delay: 1 Year)
American Psychologist Publishes current and timely high-impact papers of broad interest, including empirical reports, meta-analyses, and scholarly reviews covering science, practice, education, and policy.
Journal of Psychopathology and Clinical Science Publishes articles on basic research and theory in the broad field of psychopathology and other behaviors relevant to mental illness, their determinants, and correlates. (Previously titled Journal of Abnormal Psychology.)
Journal of Applied Psychology Emphasizes the publication of original investigations that contribute new knowledge and understanding to fields of applied psychology (other than clinical and applied experimental or human factors).
Journal of Consulting and Clinical Psychology Publishes cross-cultural research reports in the field of psychology.
Journal of Counseling Psychology Publishes empirical research in the areas of counseling activities (including assessment, interventions, consultation, supervision, training, prevention, psychological education, and advocacy), career and educational development and vocational psychology, diversity and underrepresented populations in relation to counseling activities, the development of new measures to be used in counseling activities, and professional issues in counseling psychology
Journal of Educational Psychology The main purpose of the Journal of Educational Psychology is to publish original, primary psychological research pertaining to education across all ages and educational levels. A secondary purpose of the journal is the occasional publication of exceptionally important theoretical and review articles that are pertinent to educational psychology.
Journal of Personality and Social Psychology Publishes original papers in all areas of personality and social psychology and emphasizes empirical reports, but may include specialized theoretical, methodological, and review papers.
Behavior Analysis: Research and Practice Multidisciplinary journal committed to increasing the communication between the subdisciplines within behavior analysis and psychology, and bringing up-to-date information on current developments within the field. Recommended for Autism Studies research.
Cognitive Psychology Concerned with advances in the study of attention, memory, language processing, perception, problem solving, and thinking. Cognitive Psychology specializes in extensive articles that have a major impact on cognitive theory and provide new theoretical advances.
Emotion Publishes significant contributions to the study of emotion from a wide range of theoretical traditions and research domains. The journal includes articles that advance knowledge and theory about all aspects of emotional processes, including reports of substantial empirical studies, scholarly reviews, and major theoretical articles.
Memory Publishes papers in all areas of memory research, including experimental studies of memory (including laboratory-based research, everyday memory studies, and applied memory research), developmental, educational, neuropsychological, clinical and social research on memory.
Neuroscience Publishes papers describing the results of original research on any aspect of the scientific study of the nervous system.
Professional Psychology: Research and Practice Publishes articles on the application of psychology, including the scientific underpinnings of the profession of psychology.
Clinical Psychological Science The Association for Psychological Science’s journal, Clinical Psychological Science, provides readers with the most innovative research in clinical psychological science, giving researchers of all stripes a home for their work and a place in which to communicate with a broad audience of both clinical and other scientists.
Psychological Science in the Public Interest Unique journal featuring comprehensive and compelling reviews of issues that are of direct relevance to the general public. These reviews are written by blue ribbon teams of specialists representing a range of viewpoints, and are intended to assess the current state-of-the-science with regard to the topic.
Advances in Methods and Practices in Psychological Science Publishes innovative developments in research methods, practices and conduct across the full range of areas and topics within psychological science.
Law and Human Behavior Multidisciplinary forum for empirical manuscripts examining the interface between human behavior and the law, the criminal justice and legal system, and the legal process. Recommended for forensic psychology.
Psychology, Public Policy, and Law Forum to critically evaluate the contributions of psychology and related disciplines to public policy and legal issues, and vice versa. Recommended for forensic psychology.

To check for other journals, use our Journals by Title tool:

UVU Fulton Library: Journals by Title
Use this tool to search for specific journal titles. If the Fulton Library subscribes to the journal, you will see the years available and links to databases where you can read the journal.

Interlibrary Loan for Articles

If you can't access the full text of an article using any of the resources on this page, use Interlibrary Loan to request the article. We'll locate another library that has the article and get you a PDF copy for free; this typically takes 2-3 business days. UVU students and employees should never pay for articles—the library has you covered!

Interlibrary Loan
Request books and articles not owned by the UVU Fulton Library.

Librarian

Angela Beatie

Contact:

Email Angela
FL115, Fulton Library

801.863.7421

Subjects: Anthropology, Behavioral Science, Communication, Family Science, Gender Studies, Psychology, Social Work, Sociology

Library Help

Call: 801.863.8840
Text: 801.290.8123

In-Person Help