Research Guides: Religious Studies: Find Books

Books and Ebooks

For books about the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, see the LDS Studies page of this guide.

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

This list contains dictionaries and encyclopedias on some of the world's major religions. The Fulton Library has dozens of books about other religions and denominations—too many to list here. See below for instructions on finding more books. For best results, search for the name of a specific religion or try searching for religion AND [the subtopic of your choice].

Cambridge Dictionary of Christianity (Ebook) by Daniel Patte (Editor)
Publication Date: 2010
The Cambridge Dictionary of Christianity is an authoritative reference guide that enables students, their teachers, and Christian clergy to reflect critically upon all aspects of Christianity from its origins to the present day. Written by a team of 800 scholars and practitioners from around the world, the volume reflects the plurality of Christianity throughout its history.
Cambridge Dictionary of Judaism and Jewish Culture (Ebook) by Judith R. Baskin (Editor)
Publication Date: 2011
The Cambridge Dictionary of Judaism and Jewish Culture is an authoritative and accessible reference work for a twenty-first-century audience. Its entries, written by eminent scholars, define the spiritual and intellectual concepts and religious movements that distinguish Judaism and the Jewish experience; they discuss central personalities and places, formative events and enduring literary and cultural contributions and they illuminate the lives of ordinary Jewish men and women.
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World (Print Book) by Richard C. Martin
Publication Date: 2016
This reference work includes articles on the history, religion, cultural practices, and political economies of Muslims from the seventh-century in West Asia to today's Muslim societies throughout the continents of Asia, Africa, the Subcontinent, Europe, and the Americas.
Encyclopedia of Religion (Print Book) by Lindsay Jones
Publication Date: 2004
This wide ranging encyclopedia includes articles on religions around the world, from the ancient era to the present.
World Christian Encyclopedia: A Comparative Survey of Churches and Religions in the Modern World (Print Book) by David B. Barrett, George Thomas Kurian, and Todd M. Johnson (Editors)
Publication Date: 2001
Now in two volumes, the Encyclopedia presents and analyzes an unmatched wealth of information about the extent, status, and characteristics of twentieth-century Christianity worldwide...This new edition features a vast range of new and previously unpublished data on the current global situation of Christianity, on religion in general, and on the political, demographic, economic, and social characteristics of the world's cultures and peoples in 238 countries.

Handbooks

Unlike dictionaries and encyclopedias, handbooks offer analysis and theory rather than background information. They can help you understand how to apply critical theories to your research question and identify new research strategies.

Handbook of the Sociology of Religion (Ebook) by Michele Dillon (Editor)
Publication Date: 2003
This handbook showcases research and thinking in the sociology of religion. The contributors, all active writers and researchers in the area, provide original chapters focusing on select aspects of their own engagement with the field. Aimed at students and scholars who want to know more about the sociology of religion, this handbook also provides a resource for sociologists in general by integrating broader questions of sociology (e.g. demography, ethnicity, life course, inequality, political sociology) into the analysis of religion.
Penguin Handbook of the World's Living Religions (Print Book) by John R. Hinnells (Editor)
Publication Date: 2010
Comprehensive, informative and authoritative, The Penguin Handbook of the World's Living Religions is compiled by a team of leading international scholars, and is the definitive guide to the religious belief systems and practices of the world today. This in-depth survey of active religions has now been fully updated to include modern developments and the most recent scholarship.
Routledge Handbook of Research Methods in the Study of Religion (Print Book) by Michael Stausberg and Steven Engler (Editors)
Publication Date: 2011
This is the first comprehensive survey in English of research methods in the field of religious studies. It is designed to enable non-specialists and students at upper undergraduate and graduate levels to understand the variety of research methods used in the field. The aim is to create awareness of the relevant methods currently available and to stimulate an active interest in exploring unfamiliar methods, encouraging their use in research and enabling students and scholars to evaluate academic work with reference to methodological issues.

Finding Books

This list is only a starting point of commonly used books in this area, not a complete list of library books on the subject. To find other books on this subject, use the search box on the library's homepage. To find other books on this subject, use the search box on the library's homepage. The search box defaults to OneSearch. To look for books, toggle over to Books. This will limit your search to books and ebooks.

Finding Books: UVU Fulton Library Homepage
Use the search box on the library's homepage to search for more books. Enter a few search terms, a title, or an author into the box, then hit enter or click the magnifying glass. Once your search runs, you can filter your results by clicking the All Filters button, located just below the search box.

Library Help

Call: 801.863.8840
Text: 801.290.8123