Research Guides: Social Work: Find Books

Finding Books

This page includes a starting list of reference books to help with your social work research, as well as instructions for finding more books. Books are helpful for an in-depth look at your topic or for finding background information.

Find Books: UVU Fulton Library Homepage
Use the search box on the library's homepage to search for more books. The search box defaults to OneSearch. To look for books and ebooks, toggle over to Books. This will limit your search to books and ebooks only.

Books and Ebooks

Social Workers' Desk Reference (Ebook) by Kevin Corcoran and Albert R. Roberts (Editors-In-Chief)
Publication Date: 2015
This book is also available in print.
With 159 chapters collaboratively written by luminaries in the profession, this third edition of the Social Workers' Desk Reference serves as a comprehensive guide to social work practice by providing the most recent conceptual knowledge and empirical evidence to aid in the understanding of the rapidly changing field of social work. Each chapter is short and contains practical information in addition to websites and updated references.
Encyclopedia of Social Work, 20th Edition (Ebook) by Terry Mizrahi and Larry E. Davis
Publication Date: 2008
Co-published by the National Association of Social Workers and Oxford University Press. Contains four hundred subject entries and two hundred brief biographies of key figures in the history of social work. Clearly arranged in A-Z format, each article is fully cross-referenced and includes a select bibliography to guide interested readers to primary sources and the most important scholarly works on a given subject.
Dictionary of Social Work and Social Care, Second Ed. (Ebook) by John Harris and Vicky White
Publication Date: 2018
This new edition has been fully revised and updated to provide more than 1,800 A-Z definitions of terms from the field of social care, concentrating on social work as a significant area within this field. Covering social work theories, methods, policies, organizations, and statutes, as well as key terms from interdisciplinary topics overlapping with health and education, this is the most up-to-date dictionary of its kind available.
Social Work Dictionary (Print Book) by Robert L. Barker
Publication Date: 2014
Do you know the definitions of "anamnesis," "eustress," "sarcopenia," "redecision therapy?" These and thousands of other terms are defined in the sixth edition of The Social Work Dictionary. This new, updated edition includes definitions of terms that are consistent with those in the DSM-5 and the International Classification of Diseases; terms used by social work clinical practitioners, educators, administrators, researchers, advocates, and many others; names of social welfare organizations, government programs, and private foundations that social workers encounter; a chronology of important historical events and pivotal figures in the development of social work and social welfare.
Suicide Prevention: An Ethically and Scientifically Informed Approach (Ebook) by Samuel Knapp
Publication Date: 2020
This book offers essential information about assessing, managing, and providing mental health treatment for suicidal adult outpatients. Author Sam Knapp guides readers through the full process of treating suicidal patients, from screening to relapse prevention, using effective, research-informed interventions. He explains suicidal behavior through ideation-to-action theories of suicide, and argues for the application of principle-based ethics when making treatment decisions.
DSM-5-TR: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (eBook) by the American Psychiatric Association
Publication Date: 2013
An online version of the DSM-5 is available through the Fulton Library's subscription to Psychiatry Online Premium.
Also available in print.

Physical copies of the DSM-5 are available on the library's 5th floor at call number RC455.2 .C4 D54 2013. A non-circulating copy is also available at the Research Help Desk on the library's 1st floor. The DSM-5 is the standard reference book for clinical practice in the mental health field and is used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders.

Handbooks

Handbooks are collections of scholarly essays on a topic and include extensive bibliographies of additional sources. Handbooks can be especially useful for research, since they help give you a "big picture" look at your topic AND lead you to peer-reviewed articles.

The following are a few examples of handbooks. You can search for more handbooks by simply adding AND handbook after your search terms.

Clinical Handbook of Couple Therapy (Ebook) by Alan S. Gurman, Jay L. Lebow, and Douglas K. Snyder (Editors)
Publication Date: 2015
This handbook presents the most effective, widely studied approaches to couple therapy. The distinguished coeditors bring together other leading experts, most of whom developed the approaches they describe. Adhering closely to a uniform structure to facilitate study and comparison, chapters cover the history, theoretical and empirical underpinnings, and techniques of each model. The volume also describes cutting-edge applications for particular relationship contexts (such as blended families, LGBT couples, and separated couples) and clinical problems (such as partner aggression, psychological disorders, and medical issues).
Handbook of Social Work Practice with Vulnerable and Resilient Populations (Ebook) by Alex Gitterman (Editor)
Publication Date: 2014
This handbook examines not only risk and vulnerability factors in disadvantaged populations but also resilience and protective strategies for managing and overcoming adversity. This third edition reflects new demographic data, research findings, and theoretical developments and accounts for changing economic and political realities, including immigration and health care policy reforms.
Handbook of International Social Work (Print Book) by Lynne M. Healy and Rosemary J. Link (Editors)
Publication Date: 2012
Global knowledge is increasingly essential for all aspects of social work. Today's professionals respond to concerns including permeable borders, the upheavals of war, displaced workers, natural disasters, international adoption, and human trafficking. This handbook is the first major reference text to provide a solid foundation of knowledge for students and researchers alike.
Bergin and Garfield's Handbook of Psychotherapy and Behavior Change (Ebook) by Michael J. Lambert (Editor)
Publication Date: 2013
The classic reference on psychotherapy—revised for the 21st century. Keeping pace with the rapid changes that are taking place in the field, Bergin and Garfield's Handbook of Psychotherapy and Behavior Change, endures as the most important overview of research findings in psychotherapy for professionals, academics, researchers, and students.

Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) Exam Prep Books

Use these exam prep books when it comes time to prepare to take your ASWB licensing exams.

ASWB Guide to the Social Work Exams (Print Book) by the Association of Social Work Boards
Publication Date: 2020
For hands-on practice by design to simulate the actual testing experience, this guide is the ideal companion to the ASWB online practice tests for the Bachelors, Masters, and Clinical exams. It includes a full-scale 170-question practice test that uses retired test questions from past exams. This guide goes beyond tips on choosing the right answers, it helps you understand the exam itself and how the questions work.
Social Work ASWB Bachelors Exam Guide: A Comprehensive Study Guide for Success (Ebook) by Dawn Apgar and the Association of Social Work Boards
Publication Date: 2015
Students and social workers preparing for the social work bachelors licensure exam will find an invaluable study resource in the Social Work ASWB Bachelors Exam Guide.
Social Work ASWB Bachelors Practice Test (Ebook) by Dawn Apgar and the Association of Social Work Boards
Publication Date: 2016
This full-length practice test with answers and rationales, created by a prominent educator of social work licensure candidates, is a key resource for social workers preparing for the ASWB Bachelors or Associate exams.
Social Work ASWB Masters Exam Guide: A Comprehensive Study Guide for Success (Ebook) by Dawn Apgar and the Association of Social Work Boards
Publication Date: 2015
Students and social workers preparing for the social work masters licensure exam will find an invaluable study resource in the Social Work ASWB Masters Exam Guide.
Social Work ASWB Masters Practice Test (Ebook) by Dawn Apgar and the Association of Social Work Boards
Publication Date: 2016
This full-length practice test with answers and rationales, created by a prominent educator of social work licensure candidates, is a key resource for social workers preparing for the ASWB Masters exam.
Social Work ASWB Clinical Exam Guide: A Comprehensive Study Guide for Success (Ebook) by Dawn Apgar and the Association of Social Work Boards
Publication Date: 2015
Students and social workers preparing for the social work clinical licensure exam will find an invaluable study resource in the Social Work ASWB Clinical Exam Guide.
Social Work ASWB Advanced Generalist Exam Guide: A Comprehensive Study Guide for Success (Ebook) by Dawn Apgar and the Association of Social Work Boards
Publication Date: 2016
Students and social workers preparing for the social work advanced generalist licensure exam will find an invaluable study resource in the Social Work ASWB Advanced Generalist Exam Guide.

ASWB Online Practice Tests
The Association of Social Work Boards offers full-scale online practice tests for candidates registered to take the Associate, Bachelors, Masters, or Clinical ASWB licensure examinations. (This is not a free resource—practice tests are $85).

Ask Your Librarian

Annie Smith

Contact:

Email Annie
FL410, Fulton Library

801.863.8752

Subjects: Cinema Studies, English & Literature, Ethnic Studies, General Interest Topic Guides, General Research, Languages, News & Current Events, Research Skills

Library Help

Call: 801.863.8840
Text: 801.290.8123

In-Person Help