Research Guides: Social Work: Find Public Policies

Finding Public Policies

You may need to locate public policies or laws and regulations related to your research topic. This typically requires looking on government websites for state and federal codes, or at the websites for individual agencies.

This page includes a few recommended resources for finding public policies, but there are more resources available online. Contact your librarian if you need any help with this.

Utah

Utah State Legislature
The website for the Utah State Legislature includes Utah's current legal code, the state constitution, tracking for current legislation moving through the legislation process, and a tool to locate your legislators.
Utah Government Digital Library
Search for Utah government publications, which often include current statistics and research data from state agencies.
Utah Department of Human Services
Website for the Utah Department of Human Services. Agencies within this department include Child & Family Services, Aging & Adult Services, Juvenile Justice Services, Services for People with Disabilities, Substance Abuse & Mental Health, Public Guardian, Recovery Services, and the State Hospital.

National

Congress.gov
The official website for US federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. It also allows you to track legislation as it makes its way through Congress.
GovInfo
A database providing authenticated access to official publications from all three branches of the U.S. Government.
USA.gov
A subject-based portal to Federal services and resources online.
GovTrack: Tracking the United States Congress
A nonpartisan, non-governmental website that allows users to track legislation, voting records of members of the House of Representatives and the Senate, and more.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
A finding tool for publications from all three branches of the U.S. government. It contains descriptive records for current and historical publications and provides direct links to those online.
Congressional Research Service Reports
Research products produced by the Congressional Research Service (CRS) for the United States Congress.
United States Code
The United States Code is the codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States.
Federal Register
Published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) , the Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents.
Electronic Code of Federal Regulations (e-CFR)
This is a currently updated version of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR). Updated on a daily basis.

Library Databases

Westlaw Campus Research [Thomson Reuters] This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of legal information, including state and federal statutes, regulations, and court cases. To find Utah policies, open Westlaw, select State Materials, then select Utah. From there you can search by keyword or browse through different resources related to Utah.
HeinOnline [William S. Hein & Co., Inc.] This link opens in a new window
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Explores legal topics, such as legal history, government documents, and more. Contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, plus treaties, constitutions, and case law.

Ask Your Librarian

Annie Smith

Contact:

Email Annie
FL410, Fulton Library

801.863.8752

Subjects: Cinema Studies, English & Literature, Ethnic Studies, General Interest Topic Guides, General Research, Languages, News & Current Events, Research Skills

Library Help

Call: 801.863.8840
Text: 801.290.8123

In-Person Help