Research Guides: Social Work: Find Statistics &amp; Data

Finding Statistics & Data

You may want to use statistics for your research, as a way to demonstrate the extent of the problem you're researching or how many people are impacted by it. While scholarly articles often include statistics, they generally only relate to the data collected for that particular research study, or they may be out of date by the time you read the article. For this reason, you'll often need to look outside articles to find the most current statistics.

This page includes a few recommended resources for finding statistics, but there are many more statistical resources available online. You can use a search engine like Google to find the government agency responsible for collecting the statistics that interest you, such as the website for the United States Census Bureau for finding census and demographic data. Contact your librarian if you need any help with this.

Utah

IBIS - Indicator-Based Information System for Public Health This link opens in a new window
Statistical database focusing on public health in Utah, including statistics related to mental health. Can be used to find a wide range of statistical data and publications.

Utah Data
Utah Data provides open access to a growing number of publicly available, reusable data sets for Utah.
Utah Government Digital Library
Search for Utah government publications, which often include current statistics and research data from state agencies.
Utah Department of Human Services
Website for the Utah Department of Human Services. Agencies within this department include Child & Family Services, Aging & Adult Services, Juvenile Justice Services, Services for People with Disabilities, Substance Abuse & Mental Health, Public Guardian, Recovery Services, and the State Hospital.

United States

CDC National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
The National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) provides statistical information that guide actions and policies to improve the health of the American people.
National Institute of Mental Health Statistics (NIMH)
Statistics related to mental health from the U.S. National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH).
SAMHSA: Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration
SAMHSA is the agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services that leads public health efforts to advance the behavioral health of the nation. SAMHSA's mission is to reduce the impact of substance abuse and mental illness on America's communities. Their website includes a variety of valuable training resources and statistical reports.
National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI)
NAMI is the National Alliance on Mental Illness, the nation’s largest grassroots mental health organization dedicated to building better lives for the millions of Americans affected by mental illness.
U.S. Data and Statistics
A centralized website which includes links to data and statistics available from the US Government.
Data.gov
Open data available from the US Government. Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
National Survey of Family Growth
The National Survey of Family Growth (NSFG) gathers information on family life, marriage and divorce, pregnancy, infertility, use of contraception, and general and reproductive health.
National Center for Family & Marriage Research
The National Center for Family & Marriage Research (NCFMR) was established in 2007 to help improve our understanding of how family structure is linked to the health and well-being of children, adults, families, and communities and to inform policy development and programmatic responses.
Bureau of Justice Statistics
Statistics created and published by the Bureau of Justice Statistics covering crime trends, incarceration rates, criminal offenders, crime victims, and criminal justice operations.

Statistical Abstract of the U.S. 2013 - present This link opens in a new window
Non-peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Statistical & research data.
Specializes all areas of social science research, including anthropology, sociology, psychology, and the humanities. Contains social, political, and economic data summaries of the U.S.
Census Data This link opens in a new window
Non-peer reviewed. Full-text content. Open access. Statistical & research data.
Indexes data from the latest U.S. Census, including population, education, business, economic, and ethnic information. This database can be used to locate statistics and create custom tables of census data.

Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes, and trends shaping the world. They conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis, and other data-driven social science research.

International

UN Data
A web-based data service for the global user community. It brings international statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single-entry point. Users can search and download a variety of statistical resources compiled by the United Nations (UN) statistical system and other international agencies.
OECD Family Database
The OECD Family Database was developed to provide cross-national indicators on family outcomes and family policies across the OECD countries, its enhanced engagement partners and EU member states.
CIA World Factbook
Provides a country-by-country listing of basic statistical and factual information about the history, people and society, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Entries average two pages in length. Updated weekly.
World Health Organization (WHO) Data
The World Health Organization manages and maintains a wide range of data collections related to global health and well-being as mandated by our Member States.

Monthly Bulletin of Statistics This link opens in a new window
Non-peer reviewed. Full-text content. Statistical & research data.
Offers current global economic and social statistics. Contains data for economic trends and developments, including population, industrial production indices, price indices, employment, and more.

Datasets and Research Portals

Interuniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) This link opens in a new window
Non-peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Statistical & research data.
Dedicated to social and behavioral research. Contains raw statistical and sociological data, as well as the ICPSR Annual Reports and the ICPSR Bulletin.
SSRN: Social Science Research Network This link opens in a new window
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Open access. Statistical & research data.
Encompasses all areas of social science research, including anthropology, sociology, psychology, and the humanities. Includes research papers.

Librarian

Angela Beatie

Contact:

Email Angela
FL115, Fulton Library

801.863.7421

Subjects: Anthropology, Behavioral Science, Communication, Family Science, Gender Studies, Psychology, Social Work, Sociology

Library Help

Call: 801.863.8840
Text: 801.290.8123

In-Person Help