Research Guides: CJ 3300: Victimology: Home

Getting Started

Welcome to the CJ 3300 research guide!

This guide provides links to the most useful search strategies, databases, websites, and other resources for the major themes in your class. This guide will help you:

Save time and reduce stress – The library has hundreds of thousands of print and electronic resources. A research guide brings together all of the best relevant, appropriate, and subject-specific content in one place.
Find reliable, expert information – The librarian created the research guide using the most current, credible, and scholarly resources available.
Suggest search terms – Choosing your search terms is one most important steps in your research process. This guide provides suggested search terms to help you create effective searches.
Databases – List of pertinent Criminal Justice databases.
Accessible – Content can be accessed 24/7 from any device anywhere with an internet connection.
One-stop shopping – Combines many different types of resources in one place. Not just library resources, but also links to credible websites, career information, and more.

If you need any assistance with your research please your librarian they are happy to help!

Most Used Resources

OneSearch [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Videos. Audio Recordings.
OneSearch is the default search on the Fulton Library’s homepage. Includes the library’s books and videos, articles from many library databases, and more.
SocINDEX [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Dedicated to sociology research and related topics, including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, religion, racial studies, and social work. Contains journals and abstracts.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts [United States DOJ] This link opens in a new window
Partially peer reviewed. No full-text content. Open access.
Focuses on the field of criminal justice, including corrections, courts, crime, law enforcement, and more. Contains summaries of federal, state, and local government reports, as well as articles, books, research reports, and unpublished research.
ScienceDirect Journals [Elsevier] This link opens in a new window
Peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Focuses on the life sciences, physical sciences, medical sciences, and technology, with access to scientific, technical, and medical research. Includes journal articles, book chapters, and publications.
APA PsycArticles [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Covers the field of psychology, with topics relating to mental illness, psychological treatment, counseling, developmental psychology, and educational psychology. Includes access to APA journal within these subjects.
APA PsycInfo [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
This database focuses on psychology and explores topics like psychiatry, pharmacology, linguistics, treatments, counseling, addiction, and more. Contains APA journals and articles
Diversity Studies [Gale] This link opens in a new window
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Explores cultural differences, cultural contributions, and cultural influences in the global community. Offers access to millions of journal articles.

Journal of Victimology and Victim Justice
Journal of Victimology and Victim Justice, a peer-reviewed journal, focuses on both critical leadership and practical development representing victimological perspectives from a broad range of disciplines and contribute to a greater understanding of victims, victimization, victim-offender relations, institutional functioning, and allied issues.
Victims & Offenders
Victims & Offenders is a peer-reviewed journal that provides an interdisciplinary and international forum for the dissemination of new research, policies, and practices related to both victimization and offending throughout the life course.
Journal of Behavior Analysis of Offender and Victim Treatment and Prevention
The Journal of Behavior Analysis of Offender and Victim Treatment and Prevention focuses on the role of behavior analysis in adult and juvenile crime prevention, assessment of offenders including risk assessment, and treatment programs from a behavioral orientation including but not limited to the use of behavioral counseling, collaborative goal setting, contingency management, functional assessment, functionally based interventions, respondent conditioning and counter-conditioning procedures, functional analytic psychotherapy and acceptance and commitment therapy.

OneSearch & ProQuest

OneSearch and ProQuest are the Fulton Library's main databases. They allow you to search the library's articles, books, streaming media, and more. OneSearch and ProQuest include resources on almost every topic, making it a great place to start your research!

To use either of these databases, go to the UVU Fulton Library Homepage link below. Use the tabs in the search box to navigate between OneSearch and ProQuest. Enter search terms into the box, then hit enter or click the magnifying glass.

We recommend using both databases because, while there is some overlap between the two, each database features a lot of unique content.

UVU Fulton Library Homepage
The library's main page. Access OneSearch, help options, library hours, and more.

Ask Your Librarian

Karen Sturtevant

she/her

Contact:

Email Karen
FL413, Fulton Library

801.863.7214

Subjects: Criminal Justice, Emergency Services

Library Help

Call: 801.863.8840
Text: 801.290.8123

In-Person Help