Victimology is "An area of criminology which studies the victims of crime and their relationship with offenders," Oxford Dictionary of Law Enforcement.
Encyclopedia of Victimology and Crime Prevention (Ebook) by 
Current Issues in Victimology Research (Print Book) by 
Emerald Handbook of Feminism, Criminology and Social Change (Ebook) by When finding scholarly articles in the library databases, learning a few key search strategies will make your search process more effective. When using search engines like Google, you can type in whole questions or long phrases. But library databases are designed differently and require adjusting our search process. Use the following strategies to find the information most relevant to your research!
First, brainstorm the main search terms related to your topic. Library database works best when you use nouns as search terms—eliminate any articles (of, to, is, the), adjectives (best, worst, good, bad), and most verbs (affect, change, alter, support).
Quotation marks are used to tell databases to search for exact phrases. This is especially useful for topics that can't be boiled down to a single word.
This is also helpful when searching for a specific source.
You'll then connect your search terms using AND to create a search string you can use in a database search box.
When you connect search terms using AND, the database finds items that contain all your search terms. Search strings using AND narrow our search and make it more specific to our topic.
Most of the time, you'll want to use search strings with at least two search terms, in order to find the research most relevant to your needs. But be aware, search strings work best with no more than three or four search terms—otherwise, your search will be too narrow and the database might not find anything.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Videos. Audio Recordings.
OneSearch is the default search on the Fulton Library’s homepage. Includes the library’s books and videos, articles from many library databases, and more.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Dedicated to sociology research and related topics, including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, religion, racial studies, and social work. Contains journals and abstracts.
Partially peer reviewed. No full-text content. Open access.
Focuses on the field of criminal justice, including corrections, courts, crime, law enforcement, and more. Contains summaries of federal, state, and local government reports, as well as articles, books, research reports, and unpublished research.
Peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Focuses on the life sciences, physical sciences, medical sciences, and technology, with access to scientific, technical, and medical research. Includes journal articles, book chapters, and publications.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Informs the research process for those studying law, law enforcement, terrorism, homeland security, forensic science, and more. Contains content from more than 250 journals.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
This database focuses on psychology and explores topics like psychiatry, pharmacology, linguistics, treatments, counseling, addiction, and more. Contains APA journals and articles
If you can't access the full text of an article using any of the resources on this page, use Interlibrary Loan to request the article. We'll locate another library that has the article and get you a PDF copy for free; this typically takes 2-3 business days. UVU students and employees should never pay for articles—the library has you covered!
