CJ 3300: Victimology

Police Studies constitute an important area of academic inquiry and policing raises a large number of ethical questions, yet to date there has been a paucity of research on the subject. This significant volume provides an integrated mix of ethico-philosophical analysis combined with practitioner knowledge and experience to examine and address the large number of difficult ethical questions involved in modern-day policing.

The book particularly addresses the growing division between members of the police and citizenry due to a number of factors, including the effects of some press members who are more interested in cultivating sensational stories of "rogue" cops than in discovering and disseminating facts. Also, with the abundance of information—true and false—available on the Internet and the increasing utilization of social media, technology contributes to the rising friction between citizens and police. Rather than make unrealistic arguments for curtailing media and technology, it suggests solutions that are reasonable, practical, and, most importantly, peaceful. The authors examine law enforcement policies, procedures, and leadership methods in relation to four cardinal virtues: self-control, justice, competency, and moral courage. Case studies illustrate ethical, legal, psychological, and tactical issues that law enforcement and the military have to address in establishing and maintaining good and peaceable governance.

The Cambridge Handbook of Policing in the United States provides a comprehensive collection of essays on police and policing, written by leading experts in political theory, sociology, criminology, economics, law, public health, and critical theory. It unveils a range of experiences—from the police chief of a major metropolitan force to ordinary people targeted for policing on the street—and asks important questions about whether and why we need the police, before analyzing the law of policing, police use of force, and police violence, paying particular attention to the issue of discrimination against marginalized and vulnerable communities at the blunt end of police interference.

To implement the Crime Victims' Rights Act (CVRA), the federal judiciary have, among other things, revised internal guidelines, trained the Department of Justice (DOJ) staff and judges, provided victims with emergency, temporary housing to protect them and proactively asked victims if they would like to speak in court. Mechanisms to ensure adherence to the CVRA include processes for victims to submit complaints against DOJ employees and assert their rights in court; however, the majority of victims reported they were not aware that these mechanisms exist. If victims are not aware of the complaint process or their ability to assert their rights in court, these mechanisms will not be effective at helping ensure that victims are afforded their rights. Thus, this book attempts to increase awareness of the CVRA and improve its implementation.

This book discusses how some clinics have won significant gains at the appellate and federal court levels concerning victim standing, the rights to be consulted and heard, and the right to privacy. Some have won significant victories in gaining standing for victims and expanding the definition of particular rights. Others are enjoined in the battle. But all have raised awareness of victims' rights in the justice system.

When the victims of injustice lose faith in their justice system, the crime they've endured cuts only deeper, adding insult to injury. The time has come to face the truth that most victims of crime will not have their needs met and often won't experience our systems of justice as just.

Justice Statistics: An Extended Look at Crime in the United States is a special edition of Crime in the United States. It brings together nine key reports that fall under this category. Topics covered include capital punishment, rape and sexual assault among college-age women, correctional populations, crime in the United States, hate crimes, probation, parole, human trafficking, and law enforcement officers killed and assaulted. Each section contains statistical tables and figures highlighting the data, as well as a brief summary of the report's methodology and at-a-glance highlights of the most compelling information.

The criminal justice system is complicated. Understand it and your rights. This book demystifies the complex rules and procedures of criminal law. It explains how the system works, why police, lawyers, and judges do what they do, and what suspects, defendants, and prisoners can expect. It also provides critical information on working with a lawyer. In plain English, The Criminal Law Handbook covers: search and seizure arrest, booking, and bail Miranda rights arraignment plea bargains trials sentencing common defenses working with defense attorneys constitutional rights juvenile court legal terms and definitions appeals public defenders victims' rights. The 17th edition is completely updated, covering the latest in criminal law, including U.S. Supreme Court cases.

Criminal Justice: Retribution vs. Restoration presents new answers and unconventional suggestions addressing America's overcrowded prisons and jails, high recidivism rates, and weakened family and community relationships with ex-prisoners. Experts in the field discuss the benefits and failures of America's criminal justice system at various times in history and today, then explore possibilities to improve on that system. This groundbreaking book introduces encouraging, therapeutic approaches to criminal justice that include treatment, rehabilitation, and the direct involvement the victims, the families, and the communities.

Career Guide in Criminal Justice is the guide to getting hired and working in the criminal justice system. Featuring a straightforward and accessible writing style, it covers the three main components of the criminal justice system--law enforcement, courts, and corrections--discussing career opportunities in local, state, and federal government along with those in the private sector. The book also looks at careers in private investigations, the bond industry, forensic psychology, cybersecurity, and other related fields.

The purpose of this book is to address the proper preparation for careers in criminal justice. Now more than ever, there is a societal demand for willing college graduates who are prepared to enter the field at the basic level, and eager to develop themselves into positions of responsibility and leadership. Due to rapid and continuous changes in technology and overall society, students entering the field of criminal justice employment will be expected to adjust to changes in their line of work.

A valuable supplement to students considering a career in the criminal justice field, this book provides an emphasis on planning, pursuing, and preparing for the hiring process. It includes three main sections of planning a realistic path, selecting an appropriate career, and preparing for the hiring process. Students will be able to peruse the relevant chapters repeatedly when they are ready to start the process of applying for various jobs.

This book explores the criminal justice career landscape by providing a glimpse into the different criminal justice careers and provides advice as to how to prepare to enter those career fields. This book includes personal profiles that exemplify real work in the criminal justice profession.